Weather Forecast

Click for Imperial, Nebraska Forecast

Six earn FFA state degree, two will interview for proficiency, state office PDF Print E-mail
By Carolyn Lee
The Imperial Republican

    Forty-five of the 47 Chase County Schools FFA chapter members have qualified for competition at the Nebraska FFA Convention in Lincoln next week. Some of those students are aiming high in the FFA structure.
    Senior Kerry Swanson is interviewing for a state officer position. Seven officers are chosen through the interview process.
    Swanson has served as Parliamentarian, and is now Vice President of the Imperial chapter.
    Paula Leibbrandt is one of the top three finalists in the Vegetable Production proficiency division. She will find out at the convention whether her sweet corn production and sales job the past number of summers has earned her first place in the state.
    Leibbrandt is judged on her job, her record book and the amount of money she has earned.
    Earning their State Degrees will be the following:
    Morgan Strand, in Crop Production Placement. She worked for Strand Farms and raised and showed sheep.
    Molly Strand, in Crop Production Placement. She worked for Strand Farms and raised and showed sheep.
    Kerry Swanson, in Ag Sales Placement. He worked for four years at Hill’s Family Foods.
    Megan Bauerle, in Vegetable Crop Production and Sheep Production. She raised and sold sweet corn and showed sheep.
    Preston Bernhardt, in Diversified Crop Production. He worked a variety of jobs at Bernhardt Farms.
    Casey Francis, in Turf Grass Management Placement. He worked for four years at Enders Lake Golf Course.
    Teams qualifying for State include the following:
  • Ag Sales—Kerry Swanson, Morgan Strand, Molly Strand, Jade Vaverek.
  • Agriscience—Chantal Heathers, Jenna Schilke, Trevor Oxford, Michaela Ketter.
  • Floriculture—Miranda Knobbe, Elizabeth Morse, Breanna Carman, Megan Bauerle.
  • Agronomy—Charlie Haarberg, Paul Gaschler, Jade Vaverek, Paula Leibbrandt.
  • Ag Mechanics—Jonathan Hess, Lucas Bauerle, Charlie Haarberg, Alex Strand.
  • Farm Management—Daniel Regier, Preston Bernhardt, Tanner Stromberger.
  • Meats—Casey Francis, Tyler Roenfeldt, April Bernard, Malissa Martinez.
  • Ag Communications—Jared Knobbe, Steven Fish, Adam Moline, Perry Vetter.
  • Senior Parliamentary Procedure—Mark Gaschler, Molly Strand, Morgan Strand, Kerry Swanson, Megan Bauerle, Breanna Carman.
  • Junior Parliamentary Procedure—Tom Sullivan, Daniel Regier, Tyler Talbott, Lucas Bauerle, Paul Gaschler, Kyle Bottom, Grant Lenners.
  • Food science—Elizabeth Morse, Bonnie Cochran, Malissa Martinez, Karlee Kunnemann.
  • Marketing Plan—Shelby Frasier,  Brianna Brown, Malissa Martinez.
  • Natural Resources—Alexa Bernhardt, Ben Heskett, Daniel Regier,  Jacqueline Smith.
  • Senior Livestock Judging—Jade Vaverek, Tyler Roenfeldt, Morgan Strand, Molly Strand.
    Also attending will be the junior high teams, coached by Arlys Cupp, for the quiz bowl:
Spencer Hartman,  Callin Ledall, Hunter Spady, Ethan Haarberg, Shandra Johnson, Emily Johnson, Mason Holmes, Michael May, Kale Gockley, Johna Westfahl, Jordan Gibb, Justin German, Sabrina Hayes.

AP Sports List

AP Video Search