Article Image Alt Text

City employees Tina Mandeville and Mitch Hoskovec work on securing a bench in place. Wyatt Krausnick, a fifth grader at CCS, enjoys riding a scooter during a day off from school. (Johnson Publications photo) 

Skatepark adds benches to landscape

Three benches are being added at the Imperial Skatepark landscaping as improvements continue in anticipation of completing the final plan.

Article Image Alt Text

Charred pasture stretched for five miles in southwest Chase County and into northern parts of Dundy County. Some standing corn was also lost in the fire that eventually burned more than 2,800 acres Saturday. (Johnson Publications photo)

Article Image Alt Text

As Imperial’s 2,000 gallon tanker refills a Lamar Volunteer Fire Department truck, Lamar firefighter Brock Stromberger, left, and IVFD driver/pump operator John Schilke discuss the fire’s movement. (Johnson Publications photo)

Article Image Alt Text

From the northeast, the heavy, black smoke from Saturday afternoon’s fire could be seen for miles. (Johnson Publications photo)

Article Image Alt Text

The blackness of the charred grass stands out around this lone windmill Saturday afternoon. (Johnson Publications photo)

Dryness, wind aided fast spread of major grass fire Saturday

    There were times officers with the Imperial Volunteer Fire Department (IVFD) wondered if they’d ever be able to stop the spread of a major grass fire Saturday afternoon.



The Imperial Republican

308-882-4453 (Phone)

308-882-5167 (Fax)

622 Broadway St

PO Box 727

Imperial, NE 69033