Six earn post-season SPVA basketball honors

    Six members of the Chase County girls’ and boys’ basketball teams earned post-season SPVA Conference honors in a vote Monday night by the conference coaches.
    Meeting in Ogallala, the coaches chose first and second all-conference teams, as well as a list or honorable mention players.
    Three players on each of the Longhorn teams earned SPVA recognition.
    Two boys made the all-conference first team—sophomore Cedric Maxwell and senior Braden Space. Maxwell was the only sophomore in a field of all seniors on the boys’ first and second teams.
    Senior Scott Wheeler was one of eight boys named to the honorable mention list.
    For the Lady Longhorns, junior Mallie McNair earned first team all-conference recognition. Senior Allison Owings was named to the second team.
    McNair was the only junior in a field of nine other seniors on the first and second teams.
    Senior Taylor Williams was listed as honorable mention with eight other players.

To read more on this and other stories, please log in or subscribe to the digital edition.


The Imperial Republican

308-882-4453 (Phone)

622 Broadway St

PO Box 727

Imperial, NE 69033