Vocalists at CCS who earned Best of Conference in solo or group performances included, front from left, Rylie Mintling, Kaylee Meeske, Dawn Castle, Shaylee Heathers, Rose Sullivan, Gabbi Krutsinger, Nike Smith, Valerie Herbert, back from left, Bryson Fisher, Parker Dillan, Sydnie Allen, Kelly Christensen, Kadyn Milner, Adelaide Maxwell, Ryelee Christensen, Noah Griffin and Brooklyn Christensen. Not Pictured—Ruth Dodge, Nolan Spady and Sophie Spady. (Johnson Publications photo)

Josie Peterson earned Best of Conference for her alto saxophone solo. (Johnson Publications photo)

Music students at CCS bring home 10 ‘Best of Conference’ from SPVA

    Ten of Chase County’s entries in the SPVA Conference music contest March 21 earned the Best of Conference (BOC) designation.
    This year, Chase County traveled to Grant for the annual contest that draws vocal and instrumental music students from the seven SPVA schools.
    Nine of the BOC winners were in the vocal divisions, while one CCS instrumentalist earned BOC.
    All of the 23 vocal entries directed by Randy Hayes earned superior, or ratings of “I.” Only entries that earned a superior (I) could be considered for the BOC designation.
    Band Director Agnes Strand entered students in 15 different instrumental divisions at the contest, with one earning BOC.
    Chase County will host the SPVA music contest in 2018. Other schools in the conference include Perkins County, Kimball, Bridgeport, Hershey, Sutherland and North Platte St. Pat’s.
    Next on the music students’ competition schedule is the district contest to be hosted at Chase County Schools April 21.
    Here is the full list of SPVA music placings by the CCS musicians.
Best of Conference
Girls’ low solo—Sydnie Allen
Girls’ med. solo—Rose Sullivan
Boys’ med. ensemble—Nolan Spady, Parker Dillan, Noah Griffin, Nike Smith
Girls’ duet—Rylie Mintling, Sydnie Allen
Girls’ med. ensemble—Rose Sullivan, Shaylee Heathers, Ryelee Christensen, Sydnie Allen
Girls’ large ensemble—Girls in 9th St. Singers
Mixed duet—Parker Dillan, Rose Sullivan
Mixed med. ensemble—Shaylee Heathers, Rose Sullivan, Parker Dillan, Noah Griffin.
Mixed large ensemble—Parker Dillan, Nolan Spady, Noah Griffin, Nike Smith, Rose Sullivan, Shaylee Heathers, Kaylee Meeske, Ryelee Christensen, Dawn Castle, Kelly Christensen
Other Superiors (I)
Girls’ high solo—Gabbi Krutsinger
Girls’ med. solo—Valerie Herbert
Girls’ med. solo—Kelly Christensen
Girls’ low solo—Ruth Dodge
Girls’ low solo—Brooklyn Christensen
Girls’ low solo—Ryelee Christensen
Boys’ low solo—Noah Griffin
Boys’ med. solo—Nike Smith
Boys’ high solo-—Nolan Spady
Girls’ duet—Ryelee Christensen-Brooklyn Christensen
Girls’ duet—Gabbi Krutsinger-Valerie Herbert
Girls’ duet—Rose Sullivan—Shaylee Heathers
Mixed duet—Ryelee Christensen—Noah Griffin
Show choir—9th St. Singers
Best of Conference  
Alto sax solo—Josie Peterson
Other Superiors (I)
Bass clarinet solo—Alex Pflum
Bari sax solo—Ryelee Christensen
Trumpet solo—Noah Griffin
Trumpet solo—Emma Ferguson
Flute trio—Ruth Dodge, Katie Richman, Megan Baird
Sax quartet—Josie Peterson, Francisco Barrientos, Brooklyn Christensen, Trevor Peterson
Clarinet quartet—Cydney Spady, Adriana Vargas, Lauren Prior, Alex Pflum
Brass quintet—Emma Ferguson, Stephen Johnson, Noah Griffin, Kalen Wallin, Giovanna Welsh
Excellent (II)
Jazz band—Simply Jazz
Alto sax solo—Amber Stumpff
Alto sax solo—Joel DaMoude
Clarinet solo—Lauren Prior
Flute/clarinet duet—Ruth Dodge and Amber Stumpff
Good (III)
Clarinet solo—Amber Stumpff

The Imperial Republican

308-882-4453 (Phone)

308-882-5167 (Fax)

622 Broadway St

PO Box 727

Imperial, NE 69033