Article Image Alt Text

New Nebraska Legislature looks pretty much same

The 106th Nebraska Legislature will have 12 freshmen, 10 elected (eight with no incumbent running) and two to be appointed by Governor Pete Ricketts to replace incumbents who were elected to new posts. Five incumbents in the even districts up for grabs had no opposition.
It’s doubtful this group will look much different than its predecessors as it faces—or tries to avoid—meaningful debate on property taxes and school funding, one of the looming topics on their plates.
Given the seriousness of what lies ahead, one can only hope the newbies are well prepped for the task at hand.
The officially nonpartisan Legislature carries over 14 veteran lawmakers who are Republicans and 13 who are Democrats. Voters selected 14 Republicans and five Democrats in the contested races on Nov. 6. Independent Ernie Chambers of Omaha was not up for election. One can expect Ricketts will appoint two Republicans.
Three incumbents lost. Republican turned Libertarian Laura Ebke of Crete lost to farmer Tom Brandt of Plymouth, a Republican. Ricketts appointee Republican Theresa Thibodeau of Omaha lost to Democrat Machaela Cavanaugh of Omaha and Republican Merv Riepe of Omaha lost to former state Senator Democrat Steve Lathrop.

To read more of this week's Capitol View and other stories, please log in or subscribe to the digital edition.

The Imperial Republican

308-882-4453 (Phone)

308-882-5167 (Fax)

622 Broadway St

PO Box 727

Imperial, NE 69033