Candidate for mayor is first 2018 election filing

    Mason Holmes of Imperial became the first candidate to file for election in 2018. Holmes filed for the Imperial city mayor seat currently held by Dwight Coleman.
    Friday, Dec. 1, marked the first day candidates could file to be placed on the 2018 election ballot.
    In 2018, all of the elected county official seats will be up for election.
    These include Assessor Dotty Bartels, Attorney Arlan Wine, Clerk Debra Clark, Sheriff Kevin Mueller, Treasurer Cynthia Schoenberger, District 2 Commissioner David Hogsett and District 3 Commissioner Don Weiss, Jr.
    All county seats are elected on a partisan basis. Currently all of the officeholders are registered as Republicans.
    In addition to the mayor in Imperial, two city council seats held by Charlesa Kline and Chad Yaw will be up for election for four-year terms.
    Four seats on the Chase County Schools board held by Dan Reeves, Jeff Olsen, Penny Strand and Steve Wallin come up for election in 2018. These seats are for four-year terms.
    Dan Russell is the lone member up for election to the Imperial Public Power District.
    Imperial Airport Authority members Kenny Schilke and Bill Bauerle are up for election this cycle.
    Both the power district and airport authority seats are for six-year terms.
    In Wauneta, three village board seats held by Beau Kramer, Page Johnston and Tony Cribelli come up for election.
    Three seats will also be up for election on the Wauneta-Palisade School Board.  These seats are currently held by Allison Sandman, Bill Bischoff and Laurie Maris.
    Three village board seats are up for election in Lamar.
    Other seats up for election include the Upper Republican Natural Resources District, Southwest Public Power District and Educational Service Unit 16.

To view more please log in or subscribe to the digital edition.

The Imperial Republican

308-882-4453 (Phone)

308-882-5167 (Fax)

622 Broadway St

PO Box 727

Imperial, NE 69033