Article Image Alt Text

Three members of the Imperial Lions Club earned one of the organization’s highest awards last week. District Governor Nancy Russell, far right, of Gordon presented the Melvin Jones Fellowship to, from left, Marvin Large, Arlene Large and Dennis Batterman. (Johnson Publications photo)

Three Lions Club members given organization’s Melvin Jones honor

    While three members of the Imperial Lions Club thought they were attending a regular monthly meeting March 28, the evening also included a big honor for them.
    Marvin Large, Arlene Large and Dennis Batterman were all presented a Melvin Jones Fellowship, named for the founder of Lions Clubs International.
    Fellow members of the Imperial Lions Club voted for the three to receive one of the organization’s highest awards.
    All together, the three Lions Club members have contributed more than 68 years of service as members.
    Batterman joined the Imperial Lions Club in November 1985. The Larges joined as a couple in October 1998.
    Presenting the Melvin Jones plaques and lapel pins was Lions District Governor Nancy Russell of Gordon, making the presentation more memorable.
     Clubs earn the privilege to make a Melvin Jones Fellowship presentation whenever a total of $1,000 is donated to Lions Clubs International Foundation (LCIF). The Imperial Lions make annual donations to LCIF, which are used for the foundation’s humanitarian work.
    The Larges and Batterman are all active members of the club, and have chaired several committees and served as officers.
    As part of the meeting last week, District Gov. Russell also presented four membership chevrons, recognizing their years of membership.
    Those included John Osler, Merril Humphreys and Nick Schultz, 30 years; and Judy Gaswick, 15 years.
    Russell, who was accompanied to last week’s meeting by her husband Past District Gov. Fred Russell, encouraged members to attend this summer’s 100th anniversary convention of Lions Clubs International in Chicago, where the organization was founded by Melvin Jones in 1917.
    The club also elected officers at the meeting. Serving during 2017-18 will be Emma Jenkins, president; Cheryl Curtis, first vice president; Kylee Margritz, second vice president; Jayne Henry, secretary; and Miles Colson, treasurer.


The Imperial Republican

308-882-4453 (Phone)

308-882-5167 (Fax)

622 Broadway St

PO Box 727

Imperial, NE 69033