Article Image Alt Text

Johnson Publications Photo
Earning the Milestone Chevron Award for years of membership in the Imperial Lions Club were, from left, Jan Schultz, Larry Radcliffe, special guest District Gov. Dana Weber, Sheryl Curtis, Jayne Henry and Miles Colson. Not pictured—Evelyn Mitchell and Doug Gaswick. Weber of Scottsbluff presented the awards.

Lions host District Governor; new officers named

    District Governor Dana Weber of Scottsbluff was a special guest at the June 23 meeting of the Imperial Lions Club held at the home of members Kelly and Jordan Hammerlun.
    After the club’s regular business was completed, Weber addressed the Lions with a review of district, state and international Lions activities.
    He also recognized six local members for years of service.
    Awarded the Milestone Chevron Award and their years of Lions membership were Larry Radcliffe, 40 years; Evelyn Mitchell, 25 years, Doug Gaswick, 25 years; Jan Schultz, 25 years; Miles Colson, 20 years; and Jayne Henry, 20 years.
    Radcliffe is also the Imperial club’s longest serving member with 41 total years of service since joining in 1979.
    Imperial’s newest member, Randy Hayes, was also recognized by the District Governor. Hayes joined earlier this year.
    Weber referred to the club’s charter date of Nov. 10, 1931.
    That means the Imperial Lions will note their 90th year in 2021, he said.
    Weber said one of the most important aspects of the Lions Club International Foundation (LCIF) is its relief grants issued to clubs throughout the 200 countries where there are Lions clubs that include 1.4 million members.


To read more, go to:


The Imperial Republican

308-882-4453 (Phone)

308-882-5167 (Fax)

622 Broadway St

PO Box 727

Imperial, NE 69033