Four more incumbents beat filing deadline; two newcomers file

    Filing deadline for incumbent candidates arrives today (Thursday) for incumbent office-holders.
    Four incumbents filed for office the past week, along with two newcomers who are seeking county-level offices.
    County Assessor Dotty Bartels filed for re-election to the post she now holds. She is the only candidate for that office as of Tuesday.
    Two more Chase County Schools board of education incumbents filed the past week, including board president Jeff Olsen and Dan Reeves.
    Upper Republican NRD Board member Jason Kunkel of Lamar is running for re-election to his Subdistrict #4 seat.
    Two newcomer filings the past week will create races for a pair of county elected offices.
    Duncan C. Einspahr of Imperial, who currently works as a Chase County Sheriff’s Deputy, has filed for the District #2 county commissioner seat now held by Dave Hogsett, who also has filed. Einspahr filed Monday on the Libertarian ticket.
    Billie Hayes of Imperial filed for Chase County Clerk, and will challenge incumbent Debra Clark. Hayes filed on the Democratic ticket,while Clark filed as a Republican.
    Don Weiss Jr. remains the single county office-holder who has not filed as of this week for the Dist. 3 county commissioner seat he now holds.
    As of Tuesday noon, here are all of the Chase County filings:
    Co. Assessor—Dotty Bartels, Rep., inc.
    Co. Attorney—Arlan Wine, Rep., inc.
    Co. Clerk—Debra K. Clark, Rep., inc.; Billie Hayes, Dem.
    Co. Sheriff—Kevin E. Mueller, Rep., inc.
    Co. Treasurer—Cynthia S. Schoenberger, Rep., inc.
    Co. Commissioner Dist. 2—David Hogsett, Rep., inc.; Duncan C. Einspahr, Lib.
    Co. Commissioner Dist. 3—Sid Bartels, Rep.
    Imperial Mayor—Dwight Coleman, inc.; Mason Holmes.
    Imperial City Council—None.
    Imperial Airport Authority—Kenneth C. Schilke, inc.
    Chase Co. Schools Board of Education—Steven D. Wallin, Jeff Olsen, Dan Reeves, all incumbents.
    Wauneta-Palisade Board of Education—Allison Sandman and Laurie Maris, both incumbents.
    Upper Republican NRD Board—Terry L. Martin, inc., Subdistrict 2; Jason Kunkel, inc., Subdistrict 4; Dean Large, inc., Subdistrict 6. Note: NRD Board candidates must file through the Secretary of State’s office.

To view more please log in or subscribe to the digital edition.


The Imperial Republican

308-882-4453 (Phone)

308-882-5167 (Fax)

622 Broadway St

PO Box 727

Imperial, NE 69033