Article Image Alt Text

Winners of the individual sweepstakes include, from left, Ethan Hanna, Sawyer Sauder, Camden Kunnemann and Hayden Worth. Not pictured—Morayah Cupp. (Johnson Publications photo)

CCS students perform well at state fair education contests

    Results are in from the Education Department activities during the 2019 Nebraska State Fair.
    Local organizer for Chase County students was Arlys Cupp, who helped students enter their work. CCS students were entered in 18 of the 36 events including computer graphics, penmanship and poetry.
    Students who had completed grades K-12 by spring 2019 could enter the contests, and did not need to qualify at the county level to enter.
    For the sweepstakes contest, students were awarded points for all static entries and for all live competitions in which they competed.
    In the elementary division, Chase County was awarded first place.
    In the elementary level (K-5), Hayden Worth placed 3rd, Camden Kunnemann placed 4th, Sawyer Sauder placed 5th and Ethan Hanna placed 6th. All of them received trophies, which are on display at Chase County Schools.
    In addition to his trophy, Worth also received a $50 scholarship.
    In the high school division (9-12), Morayah Cupp took first place. Cupp received a trophy as well as a $150 scholarship.
    Scholarships will be paid to the college of the student’s choice after they have graduated from high school and enrolled in college.
    Three schools in each division were also awarded trophies.
    Full results include:
3D Art, K-2
1—Oliver Bencomo
2—Ethan Hanna
3—Josh Kunkel
5—Avery Jantz
6—Luisa Arzate
7—Kacen Wenzlick
Honorable mention (HM)—Nathan Pump

3D Art 9-12
1—Morayah Cupp
5—Morayah Cupp
HM—Morayah Cupp

Class Science Project
1—Chase County 2nd grade
1—Chase County 1st grade

Computer Graphics 9-12
1—Morayah Cupp

Essay K-2
1—Taya Stromberger
2—Hayden Worth
4—Cy Eskew
5—Camden Kunnemann
6—Ethan Hanna
7—Anna Maris
9—Mayrin Castillo Sanchez
10—Bennett Kuenning
HM—Sawyer Sauder
HM—Avery Cyboron
HM—Eva Camacho
HM—Addison Hauxwell
HM—Jesus Acuna
HM—Thomas Maddux
HM—Bryce Mandeville
HM—Caroline Stretesky

Essay 3-5
9—Rodrigo Robles
10—Ian Rosado
HM—Paige Owens
HM—Gavyn Maris

Group Art K-2
2—Grade 2
3—Grade 2

Health 6-12
1—Morayah Cupp

Know Nebraska Art from Past K-2
5—Tony White

Know Nebraska Photography 9-12
2—Morayah Cupp
3—Morayah Cupp
HM—Morayah Cupp

Know Nebraska Quilt Block K-2
1—Jordyn Stafford
3—Avery Jantz
4—Tesslyn Pankonin
5—Sharon Montez Perez
7—Oliver Bencomo


The Imperial Republican

308-882-4453 (Phone)

308-882-5167 (Fax)

622 Broadway St

PO Box 727

Imperial, NE 69033