Chase County designated natural disaster area due to year’s drought

    Due to drought conditions this year, Chase County is among the counties eligible for disaster funding, opening up emergency credit avenues.
    Dundy, Hitchcock, Keith, Kimball and Perkins counties all gained primary natural disaster declaration, but being contiguous to several of them, Chase County producers are also eligible.
    Producers in these counties who suffered losses caused by recent drought may be eligible for U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) emergency loans.
    U.S. Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue announced the counties last week.
    Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts.
    The deadline to apply for these emergency loans is June 15, 2021.
    FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.
    FSA has a variety of other programs to help farmers recover.
    FSA programs that do not require a disaster declaration include Emergency Assistance for Livestock, Honeybees and Farm-Raised Fish Program; Emergency Conservation Program; Livestock Forage Disaster Program; Livestock Indemnity Program; Operating and Farm Ownership Loans; and the Tree Assistance Program.
    Farmers can contact their local USDA service center for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs.
    Additional information is also available at


The Imperial Republican

308-882-4453 (Phone)

622 Broadway St

PO Box 727

Imperial, NE 69033