Weather Forecast

Click for Imperial, Nebraska Forecast

4-H families, volunteers celebrate accomplishments PDF Print E-mail

More than 100 4-H members, families and volunteers gathered on Nov. 3 for the annual 4-H Achievement Program held at the new expo hall on the fairgrounds.  
The program is held each year to honor and celebrate the accomplishments of 4-H youths, as well as recognize the numerous leaders and supporters of the Chase County 4-H Program.
Each year, Outstanding Exhibit Hall Awards are given to individuals who excel in different project areas. These awards are based on the individual giving a presentation on the county level, competing in a judging event and they must also exhibit at the county fair in the area of the award.
Morayah Cupp was awarded the Outstanding Project Trophy for poultry sponsored by 21st Century, Equipment LLC.  Regan Gittlein was awarded the Ag Engineering/Conservation Award sponsored by Hill’s Family Foods.
Livestock awards were presented in the two areas which included round robin and the carcass contest.
Receiving carcass trophies from the county fair this year were:
Market lamb—Grand Champion Kendall Prior; Reserve Champion Lauren Prior.
Market hog—Grand Champion Marco Perez; Reserve Champion Jessica Hartman.
Market beef—Grand Champion Shaylee Heathers; Reserve Champion Skye Brandt.
Carcass contest sponsors were 21st Century Equipment, LLC, NKC Veterinary Services, Large’s Cattle Services, Wayne and Chris Krausnick, Rex and Amy Prior, Chrisman Cattle Services, Inc.-Travis and Kelly Chrisman, Maddux Feeds-Mike Maddux and Sabrina Sandoval; Scott and Linda Clements, Imperial Beef and Jerry Wood.
Winners of the fair’s round robin contest were presented their jackets at the program. The junior round robin jacket is sponsored by Marjean and Chad Deines and Helser Show Cattle and was awarded to Jerzee Milner.  Junior reserve champion was Jesse Krausnick.  
The intermediate round robin jacket is sponsored by the Tom Dill Family. This year’s grand champion was Emma Ferguson with reserve champion going to Reagan Skow.
Lauren Prior was awarded the senior division round robin jacket sponsored by Stromberger Farms in memory of Wilma Stromberger. Shaylee Heathers was the reserve champion.
Those members that completed horse levels were:
Level I:  Jordan Hopp, Whitney Hopp, Jesse Krausnick
A big part of 4-H is giving back to the community through community service projects.  This year, 4-H clubs showed their community spirit by participating in Feed My Starving Children, painting trash cans for the fairgrounds, Champion Vision of Trees and Adopt-A-Highway, to name a few.  
The Challengers and Chase County All Stars 4-H Clubs were recognized for their community services.
The Nebraska 4-H Diamond Clover Program is designed to encourage 4-H youths to engage in a variety of projects and activities that will enable members to acquire the life skills and necessary to lead successful lives as competent, caring and contributing citizens. The program’s overall goal is to provide 4-H members a rich and diverse learning experience.  
Youths completing levels were:
Level 3—Morayah Cupp and Trevor Peterson.
The Nebraska 4-H Foundation sponsors the Friend of 4-H, Outstanding Alumni and Outstanding Member awards.  Chase County 4-H Council selects local recipients and presented the awards last week.
The Friend of 4-H Award is given to a business, group or individual who has gone the extra mile in supporting the Chase County 4-H program.
This year, the Chase County 4-H Council presented this award to Wilber Kuenning.  Along with his wife and family, he has donated awards, purchased animals at the livestock sale and supported Chase County 4-H for many years.  Wilber has guided his children and grandchildren through 4-H, and is now supporting his great-grandchildren in the county’s 4-H program.  
Outstanding Alumni recipient Penny Strand began her 4-H career in Dawson County as a member of the Swedettes, where she enjoyed cooking, sewing and the song contest. In 1998, she began helping with the Chase County 4-H, exhibiting a patient, caring demeanor while entering exhibits and assisting judges at the Chase County Fair.   
Outstanding 4-H Member awards were presented to Caleb Bubak, Shaylee Dorn, Regan Gittlein and Joe Tomky.  Each of these young people have continued to grow and evolve through their 4-H projects and community service activities.  
Each year, a Sportsmanship Award is presented to a shooting sports member who exhibits responsibility, displays courtesy for others and demonstrates safety practices in the BB Gun/Air Rifle and pistol practices and competitions. This trophy is sponsored by Burton and Vickie Beard in memory of Jim and Jan Trupp and was presented to Shaylee Dorn.
Volunteer leaders were presented certificates of appreciation for their time and dedication.
Volunteer leaders and their years of service include:

  • First year—Jordyn Doetker, Brian Helser, Chris and Samie Johnson.
  • Second year—Julie Ferguson, Glenn Knobbe, Beth Loop, Kenneth Williams.
  • Third year—Julie Hoskovec, Shannon Kuhlmann, Jodi Spady, Dawn Tuller, Brandon and Penny Zadina
  • Fourth year—Kristi Bernhardt, Dan Kuhlmann.
  • Fifth year—Troy Hoskovec, Amy Prior, Kelly Vitosh.
  • Sixth year—Sarah Hoskovec, Nathan Vitosh.
  • seventhYear—Rebecca Koellner,  Lori Mendenhall.
  • Eighth year—Mitch Hoskovec.
  • 10th year—Kim Bubak, Kendra Deaver, Amy and Jeremey Gittlein.
  • 11th year—Tonja Berry,  Kristine Smith.
  • 12th year—Jippi Milner, Lisa Schilke, Chris Tomky.
  • 16th year—Gene Heathers, Tracy Heathers, Dave Hogsett.
  • 17th year—Rita Hogsett.
  • 19th year—Becky Spady, Janice Owens.
  • 24th year—Arlys Cupp.
  • 29th year —Susan Spicer.

Awards of achievement on 4-H record books were presented to 4-H members for their accomplishments over the years.  They are as follows:

  • Junior—Clothing and Textiles, ShyAnn McMillin;  Dog, Lindsey Mendenhall; Sheep, Kendall Prior; Shooting Sports, Colby Hoskovec; Wildlife, Brice Vitosh; Goat, Kendall Prior; Aerospace, Morayah Cupp.
  • Senior—Achievement, Dustin Holmes; Beef, Reagan Skow;  Home Environment, Hayley Vitosh; Horse, Emma Ferguson; Photography, Hayley Vitosh; Plant Science, Kayla Schilke; Poultry, Mikael Kuhlmann; Presentations, Regan Gittlein; Sheep, Lauren Prior;  Shooting Sports, Mikael Kuhlmann; Wood Science, Blake Schilke; Welding, Taylor Jablonski;  Judging, Brady Gittlein.
  • 4-H story winners—Junior Krystal Smith; Intermediate Morayah Cupp; Senior Hayley Vitosh.
  • The 2015 4-H Council members include Kurt Bernhardt, Kim Bubak, Sue Knobbe, Traci Space, Jeremey Gittlein, Jeni Lotspeich, Brian Helser, Lori Mendenhall, Kelly Vitosh and youth members Caleb Bubak, Shaylee Dorn, Regan Gittlein and Joe Tomky.
  • Outgoing council members Kurt Bernhardt and Jeremey Gittlein were recognized for their service. Newly-elected members are Jeni Lotspeich and Loretta Stumpff.



AP Sports List

AP Video Search