Weather Forecast

Click for Imperial, Nebraska Forecast

FSA county committee nominations now open PDF Print E-mail
    Teri Moss, Executive Director for USDA’s Farm Service Agency in Chase County, announced farmer and rancher candidate nominations are now being accepted for local Farm Service Agency (FSA) county committees.
    The nomination period continues through Aug. 3. Elections will take place this fall.
    “Participation from farmers and ranchers is essential to the election process to ensure that FSA county committees represent the interests of all producers in our area,” said Moss.
    “I encourage agricultural producers throughout Chase County to nominate eligible candidates of their choice, especially minorities and women, to serve on their (the) local county committees,” she said.
    To be eligible to serve on an FSA county committee, a person must participate or cooperate in a program administered by FSA, be eligible to vote in a county committee election and reside in the local administrative area in which the person is a candidate.
    Producers may also nominate themselves, and organizations representing minority and women may also nominate candidates. To become a nominee, eligible individuals must sign form FSA-669A.
    The form and other valuable information about FSA county committee elections are available online at:
    Nomination forms for the 2009 election must be postmarked or received in the local USDA Service Center by close of business on Aug. 3.
    FSA county committee members make decisions on disaster and conservation programs, emergency programs, commodity price support loan programs and other important agricultural issues. Members serve three-year terms.
    Nationwide, there are more than 7,800 farmers and ranchers serving on FSA county committees. Committees consist of three to five members who are elected by eligible local producers.
    FSA will mail ballots to producers beginning Nov. 6. The voted ballots are due back to the local county office either via mail or in person by Dec. 7.
    Newly elected committee members and alternates take office Jan. 1, 2010.