Weather Forecast

Click for Imperial, Nebraska Forecast

Four Lady Longhorns earn post-season honors PDF Print E-mail

By Jan Schultz
The Imperial Republican

After a successful 14-11 season, members of the Chase County girls’ basketball team have captured several post-season honors.
On Monday this week, coaches from the eight SPVA Conference schools gathered to select all-conference teams and honorable mention picks.
Last week, the Lady Longhorns also selected the 2014-15 honorary team captains.
Three Chase County players were named to the All-Conference Second Team—Destiny Reinke and Taylin McNair, sophomores, and Paige Spady, a senior.
North Platte had two players on the First Team, while Sutherland, Kimball and Bridgeport each had one.
Joining the three Lady Longhorns on the Second Team were one player from Bridgeport and one from Maxwell.
Five more were named honorable mention.
In selecting the SPVA all-conference honorees, coaches can nominate their own players but cannot vote for them.
Here are all 15 SPVA all-conference honorees.
First Team
Anna O’Malley—NPSP, Kaley Stokey—Sutherland, Danika Daum—Kimball, Toni Caudillo—NPSP and Taylor Mustion—Hershey
Second Team
Megan Dudden—Bridgeport, Destiny Reinke—Chase County, Taylin McNair—Chase County, Paige Spady—Chase County and Josie Cox—Maxwell
Honorable Mention
Haeven Schuster—Sutherland, Madison Biesecker—Kimball, Mariah Curtis—Perkins County, Hannah Johnson—Hershey and Kassidy Kildow—Bridgeport
Team captains
In the selection for honorary team captains, Coach Mark Bottom provided a list of the team’s juniors and seniors for possible selection. Each player voted for two.
Team members selected Valeria Cervantes and Spady, both seniors, for the honorary team captain honor.
Players considered personal character, leadership, selflessness and their team relationship and spirit as the criteria for making their honorary captain choice.


AP Sports List

AP Video Search