Weather Forecast

Click for Imperial, Nebraska Forecast

Three Chase County grads playing in west all-star games Saturday PDF Print E-mail
By Jan Schultz
The Imperial Republican

    Three 2009 graduates of Chase County Schools will be in the spotlight with other top athletes from the western part of the state when they play in all-star football and volleyball games on Saturday.
    Jeremy Mathews and Daniel Morales will play in the West Nebraska All-Star Football Game Saturday night at Scottsbluff’s Bearcat Stadium.
    Earlier in the day, Morgan Strand will compete in the West Nebraska All-Star Volleyball Game at Cougar Palace on the campus of Western Nebraska Community College, also in Scottsbluff.
    This will be the 32nd year for the all-star football game, and the 25th year for the volleyball contest.
    Strand will play on the West Team in the volleyball game, starting at 2 p.m.
    Head coach for the West Team is Leyton’s Jodi Smith. She will be assisted by Coach Lisa Hughes of Hay Springs.
    Kickoff for the all-star football game is 7 p.m. Saturday.
    Mathews and Morales will be competing on the West Team, under the direction of Head Coach Mike Lecher of Chadron. His assistants include Rick Kinnaman of Gering, Glen Lipska of Sidney and Phil Willey of Bayard.
    The 64 members of the all-star football teams and the 24 all-star volleyball players were selected from nominations by their high school coaches.
    A portion of the proceeds from both all-star games will benefit the Scotts Bluff County Volunteer Center.
    Here are complete rosters for both the volleyball and football games Saturday.
West team—Jessica Mattox, Alliance; Alex Cape, Leyton; Sierra Schmidt, Gering; Morgan Strand, Chase County; Ashley Bargen, Chadron; Cassie Frerichs, Leyton; Hilary Wilson, Dundy County; Cortney Fillingham, Mitchell; Alyssa Norton, Gordon-Rushville; Nichole Lee, Hay Springs; Kate Morrell, Ogallala; Denya Bell, Crawford.
East team—Tasha Miller, McPherson; Barbie DeCent, Paxton; Mariah Sawyer, Thedford; Tiffany Hoaglund, Brady; Hanah Swanhorst, McCook; Ariel Gass, Valentine; Traci Keyser, Cambridge; Kadee Arensdorf, Maywood; Joanna Bryant, McCook; Erica Rhodes, Paxton; Brandi Dye, North Platte; Abbie Houghtelling, Southwest.
West team—Garrett Schlichtemeier, Ogallala; Taylor Fairhead, Gordon-Rushville; Tracer Hudson, Morrill; Charles Ferguson, Kimball; Bryant Miller, Bayard; Trey Wilberger, Scottsbluff; Matt Johnson, Sidney; Jonn McLain, Chadron; Lance Juelfs, Potter-Dix; Brett Klein, Scottsbluff; Tom Emerson, Crawford; Anthony Adamson, Hemingford, Dustin Jasnoch, Garden County, Matt Baker, Mitchell; Brett Cross, Banner County, Joe Knott, Ogallala, Jade Cleveland, Ogallala, Travis Reeves, Chadron; Jordan Mahnken, Perkins County, Levi Hoagland, Alliance; Garrett Johnson, Chadron; Conor Schnell, Alliance; Ryan Holliday, Gering; Mike Thalken, Ogallala; Kirk Fochtman, Gordon-Rushville; Dan McConnell, Leyton; Beau Hudak, Potter-Dix; Daniel Morales, Chase County; Tyson Navarro, Alliance; Jeremy Mathews, Chase County; Joe Haas, Hemingford; Tyler Weisbrook, Kimball.
East team—Dilon Goltl, McCook; Stephan Rush, Anselmo-Merna; Dustin Marten, Broken Bow; Willie Cheloha, Sutherland; Matt Berry, McCook; Christian Diaz, Lexington; Clint Bryant, Medicine Valley; Casey Lundvall, Wallace; Matt Coleman, Valentine; Josh Emhovich, Maxwell; Kayle Barnes, Elwood; Rob Keeney, Callaway; Kellen Schroeder, Lexington; Anthony Marquardt, Southwest; Chet Kirkpatrick, Anselmo-Merna; Shawn Walker, Gothenburg; Tyler Bartak, Anselmo-Merna; Dillon Breinig, Arapahoe; Taylor Lewis, Cambridge; Birk Burge, Valentine; Noel Scott, Broken Bow; Andrew Clark, Lexington; Joe Vetrovsky, McCook; Aaron Demoret, Gothenburg; Josh Beckmann, North Platte; Derek Fernau, Valentine; Brandon Fimple, North Platte; Jake Curl, McCook; Derek Gaston, Broken Bow; Ryan Bahe, Gothenburg; Ryan Ellis, North Platte St. Pat’s; Matt Helms, Maxwell.