Weather Forecast

Click for Imperial, Nebraska Forecast

4-H families, volunteers celebrate accomplishments PDF Print E-mail








Over 80 4-H’ers, family members and volunteers gathered on Nov. 4 for the annual 4-H Achievement Program in Imperial at the fairgrounds exhibit hall.
The 4-H Achievement Program is held each year to honor and celebrate the accomplishments of 4-H youths as well as recognize the numerous leaders and supporters of the Chase County 4-H program.
The evening began with finger food and desserts, followed by the program and presentations of awards.
Each year, Outstanding Exhibit Hall Awards are given to individuals who excel in different project areas. These awards are based the individual giving a presentation on the county level, competing in a judging event and they must also exhibit at the county fair in the area of the award.
Hayley Vitosh was the recipient of the Sr. Overall FCS trophy sponsored by Prior’s and was also awarded the Outstanding Project trophy sponsored by 21st Century Equipment, LLC. Morayah Cupp was awarded Outstanding the Foods trophy sponsored by Hill’s Family Foods and was also the recipient of the Jr. Overall FCS trophy sponsored by Johnson Publications.
Livestock awards were presented in the three areas which included herdsmanship, round robin and the carcass contest.
The Challengers won the honors for herdsmanship in both the swine and beef divisions. The herdsmanship for the sheep division was presented to the Chase County All Stars. These clubs each received a cash incentive along with a certificate of achievement for their efforts.
Receiving carcass trophies from the county fair this year were:
Market lamb
Grand Champion—Kendall Prior
Reserve Champion—Jesse Krausnick.
Market hog
Grand Champion—Madison Brown;
Reserve Champion—Morayah Cupp.
Market beef
Grand Champion—Kaycee Bubak
Reserve Champion—Ashley Bubak
Carcass contest sponsors were 21st Century Equipment, LLC, NKC Veterinary Services, Large’s Cattle Services, Wayne and Chris Krausnick, Rex and Amy Prior, Chrisman Cattle Services, Inc.—Travis and Kelly Chrisman,, Maddux Feeds—Mike Maddux and Sabrina Sandoval; Scott and Linda Clements, Imperial Beef and Jerry Wood.
Winners of the round robin contest were presented jackets. The junior round robin jacket is sponsored by Marjean and Chad Deines and Robert and Terry Tigner and was awarded to Jerzee Milner. Junior Reserve Champion was Jordan Jablonski.
The intermediate round robin jacket is sponsored by the Tom Dill Families and Helser Show Cattle. This year’s Grand Champion was Lauren Prior with Reserve Champion going to Emma Ferguson.
Regan Gittlein was awarded the senior division round robin jacket sponsored by Stromberger Farms in memory of Wilma Stromberger. Jessica Hartman was the Reserve Champion.
Those members who completed horse levels were:
Level I—Heather Stumpff, Amber Stumpff
Level II—Heather Stumpff, Amber Stumpff
Level III—Shaylee Heathers
A big part of 4-H is giving back to the community through community service projects. This year 4-H clubs showed their community spirit in many different ways from pet pictures with Santa, participating in Feed My Starving Children, Easter baskets for the Manor residents and painting picnic tables for the fairgrounds, just to name a few. This year the Silver Spurs, Challengers, Chase County All Stars and the Golden Showman 4-H Clubs were recognized for their community services.
The Nebraska 4-H Diamond Clover Program is designed to encourage 4-H youths to engage in a variety of projects and activities that will enable them to acquire the life skills necessary to lead successful lives as competent, caring and contributing citizens. The program’s overall goal is to provide 4-H members a rich and diverse learning experience.
Youth completing levels were:
Level 1, Amethyst—Brooke Schilke and Brice Vitosh
Level 2, Aquamarine—Kobe Clevenger, Morayah Cupp, Jordan Jablonski
Level 3, Ruby—Emma Ferguson, Tristan Ferguson, Taylor Jablonski
Level 4, Sapphire—Hayley Vitosh
Each year the 4-H Council recognizes supporters of the 4-H program by selecting recipients for the Friends of 4-H Award.
The Friends of 4-H Award is given annually to a business, group or individual who has gone that extra mile in supporting the Chase County 4-H program. This year, the Chase County 4-H Council presented this award to Chris Tomky. Not only has she been a 4-H volunteer for 11 years, but she plays an important part in our shooting sports program as well as bringing the Farm Safety Day to Chase County.
The 4-H Council also recognizes outstanding 4-H members in the 4-H program. This year’s Outstanding 4-H Member Award was given to Darin Knobbe and Jessica Hartman. Each of these young people have been involved with 4-H from their beginning years. They have continued to grow and evolve through their 4-H projects their community service and have proven their leadership abilities.
Each year, a Sportsmanship Award is presented to a shooting sports member who exhibits responsibility, displays courtesy for others and demonstrates safety practices in the bb gun/air rifle and pistol practices and competitions. This trophy is sponsored by Burton and Vickie Beard in memory of Jim and Jan Trupp and was presented to Joe Tomky.
The volunteer leaders were recognized for their most essential role in the 4-H youth program. They were presented certificates of appreciation for their time and dedication.
Volunteer leaders,
years of service
1st Year—Julie Ferguson, Glenn Knobbe, Beth Loop and Kenneth Williams
2ndYear—Julie Hoskovec, Shannon Kuhlmann, Jodi Spady, Dawn Tuller, Brandon and Penny Zadina
3rdYear—Kristi Bernhardt and Dan Kuhlmann
4thYear—Troy Hoskovec, Amy Prior and Kelly Vitosh
5th Year—Sarah Hoskovec and Nathan Vitosh
6thYear—Rebecca Koellner and Lori Mendenhall
7th Year—Mitch Hoskovec
9thYear—Kim Bubak, Kendra Deaver, DeAnn Doetker, Amy Gittlein and Jeremey Gittlein
10th Year—Tonja Berry and Kristine Smith
11th Year—Jippi Milner, Lisa Schilke and Chris Tomky
15th Year—Gene Heathers, Tracy Heathers and Dave Hogsett
16th Year—Rita Hogsett
18th Year—Becky Spady and Janice Owens
23rd Year—Arlys Cupp
28th Year—Susan Spicer
Awards of achievement on 4-H record books were presented to the 4-H members for their accomplishments over the years. They are as follows:
Junior awards
Beef—Austin and Ryan Bernhardt
Swine—Chance and Kaylie Lotspeich
Sheep—Kobe Clevenger
Horse—Jordan Hopp
Rabbit—Jordan Hopp
Clothing and Textiles—Ashley Grassia
Home Environment—Brice Vitosh
Photography—JD Tuller
Public Speaking­—Brice Vitosh
Shooting Sports—Chance Lotspeich
Leadership– Kobe Clevenger
Food Preservation—Ashley Grassia and Kaylie Lotspeich
Veterinary Science—Carrisa Hill
Entomology—JD Tuller
Jr. 4-H Story—Morayah Cupp and Colby Hoskovec.
Senior awards
Beef—Kaycee Bubak
Swine—Regan Gittlein
Sheep—Joseph Tomky
Horse—Whitney Hopp
Rabbit:—Whitney Hopp
Visual Arts—Derek Schilke
Food and Nutrition—Amanda Grassia
Child Development—Hayley Vitosh
Shooting Sports—Caleb Bubak andBrady Gittlein
Horticulture—Amanda Grassia
Plant Science—Derek Schilke
Woodworking—Elizabeth Tomky
Horse—Amber Stumpff
Leadership—Joseph Tomky
Communication Arts—Brady Gittlein
Judging—Hayley Vitosh
Council members were presented with certificates of appreciation and thanks for all of their service.
The 2014 council members are Tracy Heathers, Jeremey Gittlein, Lisa Schilke, Kurt Bernhardt, Brian Helser, Sue Knobbe, Lori Mendenhall, Kim Bubak, Kelly Vitosh and youth members Darin Knobbe, Jessica Hartman, Sheldon Bartholomew and Makenna Ketter.
Our outgoing council member Lisa Schilke was recognized for her council service. She has served on the 4-H Council for eight years and was presented a gift .
The newly elected 4-H Council members were Tracy Space and Brian Helser.


AP Sports List

AP Video Search