Weather Forecast

Click for Imperial, Nebraska Forecast

Strong showing by Imperial runners at Grant’s Firecracker Run PDF Print E-mail

A total of 228 runners took part in the 2014 edition of the Firecracker 5k Run in Grant on July 4.
There were seven divisions in both the men’s and women’s category with the top three runners recognized in each division.
Overall winner were both from Imperial and members of the Longhorn cross country team. Indy Smith was the overall race winner with a time of 18:38, while Holden Dreiling wasn’t far behind in second at 18:40. Jonathan Beverly was third over with an 18:53 time.
For the men’s division, winning in the 19 and under class, Imperial’s Holden Dreiling was first with Ryan Avrich second and Tyler Taubenheim third.
In the 20-29 division, Sheldon Holt won, edging out Logan Krueger (second) and Imperial’s Tom Sullivan (third) for top spot.
In the 30-39 age division, Tom Stynski was first, Tom Rau of Imperial second and Phillip Picquet third.
Finishing first in the 40-49 age group was Brian Kemling while Pat Aerni was second and Michael Kline third.
Jonathan Beverly of Imperial won the 50-59 division over Bryan Kroeker (second) and Imperial’s John Paisley (third).
Del Sperling finished first in the 60-69 age group over Wendell Carothers. Pat Schroder won the 70 and over age group.
For the women, Kelsey Crymble won the 19 and under division while Emily Kemling was second and Meredith McCoy was third.
Completing the course in first place in the 20-29 age group was Ashley Kemling with Morgan Holt placing second and Krystal Gaar finishing in third place.
In the 30-39 age group, Rachel Hanson was first, Katie Robertson second and Kristi McNair of Imperial, third.
Placing first in the 40-49 age group was Kelly Crymble, while Imperial’s Alicia Fries was second. Finishing in third place was Eileen Shannahan.
Mary Pierce was tops in the 50-59 age group while Kristi Krueger was second and Renae Bottom of Imperial was third.
Winning the 60-69 age group was Kathy Sperling with Star Kemling second and Susan Hanson third.