Weather Forecast

Click for Imperial, Nebraska Forecast

Special awards go out at annual FFA banquet PDF Print E-mail

By Jan Schultz

The Imperial Republican

It was a night of awards and recognitions as the Imperial FFA chapter closed out its 2013-14 school year with a May 3 banquet and program at the school.
It was a year that put the Imperial chapter in the spotlight a little more than usual, since one of its former members, Spencer Hartman, served the FFA organization as its state president.
In addition, graduated CCS senior Blair Hartman will serve the state FFA as one of its vice-presidents during 2014-15.
Advisor Jason Speck said 115 attended the banquet and program this year.
And, thanks to the Frenchman Valley Coop (FVC), the meal was free to all who attended, Speck said. The coop provided the entire cost of this year’s meal.
Speck said that’s one reason the chapter presented FVC with the I Believe in the Future of Agriculture Award, a special recognition that is given just occasionally. He said FVC has been very generous with its donations the past year.
Also receiving special recognition with the Blue and Gold Award was Arlys Cupp for her 10-plus years as coach for the junior high FFA quiz bowl team.
It was also announced May 3 that the chapter’s annual “Pink-Out” fundraiser for cancer support raised $6,146 this year during the basketball season.
In his retiring address, outgoing chapter president, Sam Haarberg, used the national FFA theme this year of “Ignite” in his speech.
He challenged each FFA member to recruit one new member in the coming year.
New officers were inducted, and will be led next year by MaKenna Ketter, chapter president.
Other officers include Jessica Hartman, vice president; Taylor Wilson, secretary; Kevin Chavira, treasurer; Mindy Castle, reporter, Darin Knobbe, sentinel; Travis Luhrs, parliamentarian; and Shaylee Dorn, historian.
All eight officers will be in Aurora early next week, Monday through Wednesday, as they attend Chapter Officer Leadership Training (COLT) in Aurora.
State FFA Vice-President  Blair Hartman and Spencer Hartman, who is starting a year as an intern with the state organization, will be on hand for the training, Speck said.
Here are the awards distributed at the FFA program earlier this month.
Certificates of Appreciation
Coaches and volunteer help—Carma Hartman, Lisa Schilke, Deann Doetker, Dave & Rita Hogsett, Amy Prior, Tom Gaschler, Arlys Cupp, Kim Bubak, Marlon Kunnemann, Doug Dean, Randy Vlasin, Amanda Vlasin, Mike Sorensen, Trish Dorn, Frenchman Valley Coop, Sheri Clevenger, Lori Mendenhall, Kelly Vitosh, Kendra Deaver, Sheri Bussell, Jill Moline
Scholarship Awards—Sophomores—Taylor Wilson. Juniors—Mindy Castle, Jessica Hartman, MaKenna Ketter, Travis Luhrs. Seniors—Andrea Hogsett, Cassie Burpo, Sam Haarberg, Anna Bauerle, Blair Hartman, Liz Tomky, Bailey Springer.
1st Year High Point Award—Trace Helser.
2nd Year High Point Award—Regan Gittlein.
3rd Year High Point Award—Jessica Hartman.
4th Year High Point Award—Blair Hartman.
7th Grade High Point Earner—Macy Coleman.
8th Grade High Point Earner—Brady Gittlein.
High Point Trip Winners—Jessica Hartman, Blair Hartman, Regan Gittlein, Ashlin Bussell, Mindy Castle, Derek Schilke, MaKenna Ketter, Sam Haarberg, Andrea Hogsett, Darin Knobbe, Alternates, Tyler Oxford, Shaylee Dorn, Trace Helser, Cade Francis, Taylor Wilson, Cassie Burpo.
Discovery Degrees—Lauren Prior, Brady Gittlein, Emma Ferguson, Kayla Schilke, Joel DaMoude, Stevie Johnson, Hayley Vitosh, Whitney Hopp, Amber Stumpff, Ryelee Christensen, Jose Medrano, Macy Coleman.
Greenhands—Trey Bahler, Hunter Bartels, Dawn Castle, Cody Denbo, Cade Francis, Angel Hinojosa, Trace Helser, Travis Luhrs.
Chapter Degrees—Eric Chavira, Shaylee Dorn, Regan Gittlein, Travis Luhrs, Jared Sharp, Taylor Wilson.
Honorary Degrees—Sheri Bussell, Brent Bussell, Dwight & Tracy Coleman, Jed & DeAnn Deotker, Tim & Lisa Schilke, Gwendoline Springer, Tab & Lisa Wood.
Sylvia Large Memorial Effort Award—Derek Schilke.
Loral Johnson Creed Speaking—Trey Bahler.
Dekalb Achievement Award—Sam Haarberg.
Eunice Speck Memorial Courage Award—Taylor Wilson.
Net Worth Award—Jordyn Doetker.
Judy Hartman Outstanding Senior Officer—Sam Haarberg.
Kathern Cross Memorial Workhorse Award—Cassie Burpo, Ashlin Bussell.
Star Greenhand—Dawn Castle.
Most Improved Greenhand—Angel Hinojosa.
2014 Star in Agricultural Placement—Sam Haarberg and Derek Schilke.
Special Awards
I Believe in the Future of Agricultural—Frenchman Valley Coop.
Blue & Gold Award—Arlys Cupp.
2014-2015 Officers—President, MaKenna Ketter; Vice-President, Jessica Hartman; Secretary, Taylor Wilson; Treasurer, Kevin Chavira; Reporter, Mindy Castle; Sentinel, Darin Knobbe; Parliamentarian, Travis Luhrs; Historian, Shaylee Dorn.


AP Sports List

AP Video Search