Weather Forecast

Click for Imperial, Nebraska Forecast

Girls’ basketball team chooses team captains; one named to SPVA honorable mention list PDF Print E-mail

By Jan Schultz

The Imperial Republican

Seniors Kaycee Bubak and Anna Bauerle were chosen by their teammates as honorary captains for the 2013-14 girls’ basketball season.
The team captain selection, as well as this week’s announcement of an SPVA Conference honorable mention player from CCS and season stats, cap off the girls’ basketball year.
Coach Nancy Sorensen said she asks the team to consider more than 10 areas in their team captain voting.
The team captains should exhibit stability (mentally, morally, emotionally), getting along with others, enthusiasm, confidence, competitiveness, sportsmanship, extra effort and more.
The two team captains were among a group of six seniors who were major contributors to the team.
Sorensen said they were a hard-working group, and with the exception of one player one year, she’s worked with all six since they were freshmen, Sorensen’s first year as girls’ head coach.
“They were all team players,” she said.
Besides the honorees, other seniors on the 2013-14 squad included Bridget Langin, Jodi Koellner, Makala Bartels and Emma Engbrecht.
Senior Blair Hartman was also a big part of the team as manager, Sorensen said.
“She was a great manager,” Sorensen said.
Hartman also spent all four of her high school years in that role.
Spady earns SPVA honor
Junior Paige Spady was the only CCS player earning a post-season SPVA Conference honor.
She was one of seven on the honorable mention list.
The selections for girls’ and boys’ SPVA honors were completed Monday during a coaches’ meeting.
Coaches can nominate their players but cannot vote for any of their own.
Here is the full list of SPVA honorees for girls:
First Team—Sam Staggs and Jalyne Schuster, Sutherland; Brittany Lawrence and Anna O’Malley, No. Platte St. Pat’s; Maegan Hiatt, Hershey.
Second Team—Tayler Baker and Maddie Seamann, Hershey; Shelby Vogel, Kimball; Kayley Stokey, Sutherland; and Josie Cox, Maxwell.
Honorable mention—Paige Spady, Chase County; Danika Daum and Jessica Hanks, Kimball; Toni Caudillo and Bree Saner, St. Pat’s; Anna Crane, Maxwell; and Mariah Curtis, Perkins County.
Experience back next year
Chase County finished their season at 5-15, not as successful as the team would have liked but one on which to build.
Coach Sorensen said the team will have good experience back next season, considering there were six juniors, nine freshman and a sophomore who joined the six seniors for a roster of 22 players.
And, the top two scorers this season were underclassmen.
Junior Paige Spady led the team scoring with 156 season points, or a 7.8 point-per-game average.
Freshman Taylin McNair was second leading scorer putting up 109 points for a 5.7 point-per-game average.
They were the only two this year who broke the 100-point threshold.
Rounding out the top five in scoring were senior Makala Bartels 83, freshman Destiny Reinke 78 and senior Jodi Koellner 52.
Reinke was the team’s leading three-point shooter with nine.
Looking at other individual stats, Bartels led the team in rebounds with 98, while Spady led in both steals (48) and assists (43).
Teamwise, the Lady Longhorns shot 28 percent from the field (2-point), were 49 percent successful on free throws and hit 21 of 140 three-point attempts.
Injuries were a big factor among the Lady Longhorns this season, with three starters out for parts of the year.
Seniors Bubak and Langin didn’t start play until about midway through the season with back injuries, then Bubak was out again late in the season with a concussion.
Bubak was last year’s leading scorer, but played in just half of the games this year. Langin was in nine of the contests.
Junior MaKenna Ketter also suffered a concussion in the season opener and didn’t play until well into the season. She was able to play in 13 games.


AP Sports List

AP Video Search