Weather Forecast

Click for Imperial, Nebraska Forecast

Stats compiled for boys’ basketball season PDF Print E-mail
Four  Longhorns on
SPVA all-conference list

By Russ Pankonin

The Imperial Republican

This year’s Chase County Longhorn boys’ basketball team put together their best season record since 2002, finishing with 17 wins against just 7 losses.
They finished second in the     SPVA, falling to N.P. St. Pat’s in the finals by a mere two points.
Coach Carl Zuege will return the bulk of his team, most of which are juniors. He’ll lose senior starters Dan Sullivan and Justus Wallin.
Zuege will look to those juniors to carry the torch next season and improve on this year’s accomplishments.
He’ll get back his top four leading scorers, all juniors, from this year’s campaign. Jeff Dickey led the team with 303 points for the season.
Kelton Fisher followed closely behind with 247 points, Travis Luhrs with 216 and Isac Sorenson with 107.
As a team, the Longhorns finished with an overall shooting percentage of 41 percent. They were 43 percent inside the 3-point arc and 36 percent outside of it.
Fisher got all of his baskets from inside the arc, dropping 103 buckets. Dickey also hit 103 shots on the season with 54 coming inside the arc and 49 coming from 3-point range.
Dickey hit 45 percent of his shots while Fisher hit 44 percent. Senior Justus Wallin led the team in shooting percentage at 63 percent, most all from inside the paint.
At the free throw line, the Longhorns went 62 percent on the year, led by Wallin at 76 percent. Dickey and Luhrs hit 67 percent and Kevin German came in off the bench to hit 68 percent from the line.
Around the basket, Dickey led the rebounding with a total of 124, followed by Fisher with 106. Sorensen and Dickey each grabbed 30 offensive rebounds.
Fisher led the team in blocks with 13, followed by Wallin with 11.
Dickey led the team in assists with 39, followed by Sullivan with 34.
Luhrs committed the most turnovers with 37, followed by Dickey with 35 and Fisher with 33.
Dickey and Fisher also took the most charges, at six and five respectively.
Zuege said the team voted Wallin, Sullivan and Trey Milner as honorary captains for the season.
Chase County (17-7)
Opponent                    CCS
@ Cozad    52    48
McCook    45    25
@ Sidney    49    56
Ogallala    49    17
Yuma CO    47    45
Cheyenne South WY
(Holiday Shootout)    44    36
Gering (Holiday Shootout)    50    55
Sidney (Holiday Shootout)    38    63
@ Dundy County-Stratton    66    50
Holyoke CO    57    62
Southern Valley    37    36
@ Perkins County    54    27
Gothenburg    51    47
Hershey (SPVA)    60    29
Kimball (SPVA)    59    53
N.P. St. Patrick’s (SPVA)    45    47
Haxtun CO    62    29
@ N.P. St. Patrick’s    48    50
Wauneta-Palisade    63    29
@ Bayard    56    44
Hershey    73    57
@ Sutherland    51    33
Hershey (subdistrict)    50    35
Cozad (subdistrict)    49    73
All Conference teams
Four Longhorns earned SPVA all-conference honors in voting held by conference coaches Monday.
Dickey was named to the first team with Fisher and Wallin named to the second team. Honorable mention honors went to Luhrs.
This year’s SPVA all-conference teams are as follows:
First team:
Player    School    Grade    Ht.
Mike Daum    Kimball    12    6’9
Mark Mayfield     NPSP     12     6’3
Alex Harms     NPSP     12     6’2
Jeffery Dickey     CCS     11     6’0
Jake Reader     Kimball     12     6’3
Second team:
Kelton Fisher     CC     11     6’4
Tyler Fear     Suth.    12     6’0
Andrew O’Neill     NPSP     11     6’1
Tim Johnson     PC     12     6’2
Justus Wallin     CC     12     6’1
Honorable mention:
Travis Luhrs     CC    11    6’0
Landon Maassen     Hershey    12    6’0
Zach Miller     Maxwell     10    6’4
Drew McClennen     NPSP     11    5’10
Bryce Bryn     NPSP     10     5’10
Derek Sis     PC     9     5’10
Kadin Copeland     Suth.     10     5’10
Colton Stull     Kimball     11     5’11
Area teams all fall in first round of boys’ state
Area teams came up winless in the first round of the boys’ state tournament in Lincoln last week.
In C1, Cozad, who defeated Chase County in subdistricts, fell to Wayne 45-60.
In Class C2, Kimball fell to Freeman 46-49.
In Class D1, North Platte St. Pat’s fell to Clearwater/Orchard 42-46.
In Class D2, Hitchock County fell to the eventual state champions, Bancroft-Rosalie 64-29.
The only other western Nebraska team in the tournament, Scottsbluff, fell to Omaha Skutt 49-58. Skutt went on to win Class B.


AP Sports List

AP Video Search