Weather Forecast

Click for Imperial, Nebraska Forecast

Election filing deadlines approaching PDF Print E-mail

Incumbent deadline for most offices is Feb. 18;

March 3 for new filers

By Sheri Hink-Wagner
The Wauneta Breeze

The filing deadline for incumbent office holders is just over three weeks away. So far filings have been slow at the Chase County Clerk’s office.
As of Tuesday, four incumbents have filed and no new filers have registered their intent to run for an elected office.
For most offices, incumbents—anyone currently serving in any elective office—have a filing deadline of Feb. 18, even if they choose to run for a different office. New candidates have an additional two weeks, until March 3.
Voters will go to the polls May 13 for the Primary and again Nov. 4 for the General Election.
All county offices are up for election, except for the County Comm. District 1 seat held by Wauneta’s Chuck Vette.
Others up for election include those of Assessor Dotty Bartels, Attorney Arlan Wine, Clerk Debra Clark, Treasurer Cynthia Schoenberger, Sheriff Kevin Mueller, District No. 2 Commissioner Jodi Thompson and District No. 3 Commissioner Don Weiss, Jr.
So far, the only two incumbents who have filed for re-election are Weiss and Clark.
There are three Upper Republican NRD seats up for election this year in Chase County. They include Subdistrict No. 4  held by Jason Kunkel of Lamar, Subdistrict No. 6 held by Dean Large  of Wauneta and the member at large position currently held by Jeff Wallin of Imperial.
In Dundy County, Terry Martin’s Subdistrict No. 2 seat is up for election, along with two others from Perkins County, now held by Loren Jessen of Grant (Subdistrict No. 8) and Brett Bullock of Madrid (Subdistrict No. 10).
As of Jan. 16 the only incumbents who have filed for Upper Republican NRD seats are Martin in Subdistrict 2 and Large in Subdistrict 6.
Local government,
public power districts

In Imperial, the mayoral seat held by Dwight Coleman and city council seats held by Chad Yaw and John Arterburn are up for election.
There are also two seats up for re-election on the Imperial Airport Authority, currently held by Jim Haarberg and Taylor May. May was appointed when Blake Moreland resigned.
Eric McDaniel was appointed to the Imperial Public Power District (IPPD) in February 2009 to fill a vacancy. His seat will be up for election in 2014.
Seats on the Wauneta Village Board held by Tony Cribelli and Beau Kramer will be on the ballot. The third seat is held by Page Johnston, appointed to the board to fill Ted Grimm’s position, and will also be on the ballet.
The Southwest Public Power District (SWPPD) Subdistrict No. 1 seat held by Brent Evans of Haigler is up for election. The seat covers parts of Dundy, Chase and Hitchcock Counties.
There are also three seats up for election on the Lamar Village Board, currently held by Kurt Schueler (appointed), Francis Baker and Pat Null.
There have been no incumbent or new filings for any of the city, village or county seats as of Tuesday.
Incumbents filing for the Imperial positions must meet the Feb. 18 deadline. Incumbents filing for Wauneta Village Board, Lamar Village Board, IPPD and SWPPD have a later filing deadline of July 15.
Chase County Schools board of education members whose terms run out this year include Penny Strand, Jeff Olsen, Dirk Haarberg and Dan Reeves. No  incumbents have filed for re-election and there are no other filings for that board.
Three seats on the Wauneta-Palisade Public Schools Board are up for election in 2014. One incumbent, Allison Sandman, has already filed for re-election. The two other incumbents, Bill Bischoff and Laurie Maris, had not filed as of Tuesday and there are no other filings for those seats.
Educational Service Unit (ESU) No. 15 has two seats up for election. Allison Sandman of Wauneta has filed for the District 3 seat. Cheri Burke of Imperial had not filed yet Tuesday for the  District 1 ESU seat she currently holds.  
The State Board of Education District No. 7 seat is also up for election in 2014. The seat is currently held by Molly O’Holleran of North Platte.
Mid-Plains Community College’s District No. 2 seat currently held by Garry Lawyer of Grant is up for election this year, as well.
Incumbents filing for the Chase County Schools, Wauneta-Palisade Schools, State Board of Education and Mid-Plains openings must file by the Feb. 18 deadline. However, incumbents who plan to file for the ESU openings have a later deadline of July 15 to file.
State, federal
State Sen. Mark Christensen of Imperial currently serves in the Nebraska Legislature for District 44 that serves southwest Nebraska. Christensen has served two terms and therefore cannot run again. As of Jan. 16, Dan Hughes of Venango is the only person who has filed with the state for that position.
The U.S. Senate seat held by Mike Johanns (R) will be vacated this year as Johanns will not be running again. Larry Marvin of Fremont has filed on the Democratic ticket while Republican Clifton R. Johnson of Fort Calhoun has also filed.
The U.S. House of Representatives in Congress District 3 seat held by Adrian Smith of Gering is also up for election this year. Mark Sullivan of Doniphan and Tom Brewer of Gordon have filed.
The only person who has filed for Nebraska Governor is Mark G. Elworth, Jr. of Omaha on the Libertarian ticket.
Secretary of State John Gale and State Treasurer Don Stenberg have filed for re-election. Other state offices up for election are Attorney General and Auditor of Public Accounts. No filings have been recorded for those positions.


AP Sports List

AP Video Search