Weather Forecast

Click for Imperial, Nebraska Forecast

Longhorns will play football in Class C1 next two years PDF Print E-mail

A difference of 105

students from largest

in Class C1 to smallest

By Russ Pankonin
The Imperial Republican

The Chase County Longhorns will play football in Class C1 for the next two football seasons, according to classifications released by the Nebraska School Activities Association (NSAA).
Class C1 won’t be anything new to the Longhorns, having competed in the class the last two years.
The football classifications are determined by the number of students in grades 9, 10 and 11 submitted to the Nebraska Department of Education as of the fourth Friday of September 2013.
In Class C1, the three-grade enrollment ranges from the largest school—Holdrege at 228—to the smallest enrollment—North Bend Central at 123.
Chase County sits at the low end of the three-grade student enrollment at 124. That represents the second smallest enrollment in C1. Johnson County Central and Wilber-Clatonia also have an enrollment of 124 students.
The Longhorns have been assigned to the C1-8 district which includes Chadron, Gordon-Rushville, Mitchell and Ogallala.
That means four of their games will be against district opponents. The other five games will be determined by NSAA in February.
C1, C2 playoff changes
Beginning in 2014, teams in the two classes will play nine regular season games.
Week 1 games in 2014 will begin during the week of Aug. 25. There will be no Week 0 games for the next two years.
Winning the district will no longer guarantee an automatic playoff berth to the champion.
Instead, only the top 16 teams, based on wildcard points, will qualify for the playoffs.
First round, quarterfinal and semi-final games will all be played on Fridays.
How NSAA classifies schools
For football classification, the NSAA assigns the 28 largest schools to Class A. The next 32 largest schools are assigned to Class B.
The other schools playing 11-man football are divided up into Classes C1 and C2 with approximately equal numbers of schools in each class.
A total of 47 teams will compete in C1  and 48 in C2 for the next two football seasons.
Schools playing eight-man football are divided into two classes, D1 and D2.
Class D1 schools with enrollment larger than 82 are not eligible for the playoffs or district championships.
Perkins County will play eight-man football next year and was right on the cut-off line with 82 students.
Here is a breakdown of the football classes and three-grade enrollments for the schools in the SPVA Conference:
Chase County    C1    124
Bridgeport (to join in 2014)    C2    116
Hershey    C2    115
Kimball    C2    115
North Platte St. Pat’s    C2    85
Perkins County    D1    82
Sutherland    D1    72
Maxwell    D2    57