Weather Forecast

Click for Imperial, Nebraska Forecast

Creativity shines in school’s pumpkin decorating contest PDF Print E-mail

By Jan Schultz
The Imperial Republican

Creatively decorated pumpkins and gourds covered the floor of the Longhorn gym last Thursday, as K-6 students lined up their colorful creations.
Each year for Halloween, the school hosts a pumpkin decorating contest, and each year, K-6 students come up with some interesting  and creative entries.
This year, an anonymous judge selected two students’ pumpkins from each classroom as winners. The students received a certificate and movie-size box of candy from Elementary Principal Susie Stewart.
Selected as the grand prize winner was fourth grader Morgan Peterson’s entry, which depicted the Planter’s Peanuts man.
A Principal’s Choice award was also chosen by Stewart. She selected first grader Myla Brown’s triple scoop ice cream cone pumpkin for that award.
Principal Stewart asked each of the winners to describe their entry to the crowd that had gathered in the gym for the costume parade.
Here are each classroom’s winners.
Grand Prize—Morgan Peterson, fourth grade.
Principal’s Choice—Myla Brown, first grade.
Kindergarten—Arlys Cupp’s class—Trace Terryberry, Kye Terryberry. Jacci Paisley’s class—Parker Terryberry, Cole Pankonin. Lisa Krutsinger’s class—Alexis Garza, Krayton Paisley.
First grade—Becky Odens class—Carson Terryberry, Max Schilke. Mary Fortkamp’s class—Sebastian Harris, Isaac Stretesky. Terri Meyer’s class—Jaret Manley, Addison Wiese. Ashley Exum’s class—Hope Reinke, Landree McNair.
Second grade—Kim Spady’s class—Kathya Aragon, Lessly Pump. Nancy Sorensen’s class—Tyler Larson, Jaret Peterson. Kim Bubak’s class—Brendan Pump, Katelyn Stamm.
Third grade—Annie Pursley’s class—Alejandra Castillo, Molly Spicer. Melissa Wallin’s class—Annika McDaniel, Aurora Griebel.
Fourth grade—Gregg Meyer’s class—Jesse Krausnick, Markenna Terryberry. Rita Nickel’s class—Kendall Prior, Jolee Schoenholz.
Fifth grade—Janet Sheaffer’s class—Chance Lotspiech, Ashlie Benge. Sandy Silvester’s class—Morayah Cupp, Kambree Meeske.
Sixth grade—Dennis Batterman’s class—Blaine Dorn, Ashley Bubak.
Sherryl Clevenger’s class—Trevor Peterson, Nike Smith.


AP Sports List

AP Video Search