Weather Forecast

Click for Imperial, Nebraska Forecast

FFA banquet, program ends year of successes PDF Print E-mail

By Jan Schultz
The Imperial Republican

    Awards, thank-yous and some tears were part of the annual FFA  banquet/program at Chase County Schools Saturday night.
    Some of the tears came from the senior officers, who had to say good-bye to the FFA program most of them have been involved in for four years.
    There may have also been a tear or two from FFA Advisor Matt Jablonski, who is completing his final year at the school this spring, with plans to work in the private sector.
    Jablonski expressed thanks to the parents, other supporters and coaches of various FFA teams.
    “Without those coaches, we could not do  what we do,” he said.
    He also thanked the members for their hard work and told them that if they want to be noticed, they have to put in the hard work.
    FFA Advisor Jason Speck echoed the comments of Jablonski about the community support.
    He also noted how active this year’s FFA senior leadership team was, and their heavy involvement in other school activities. Each of the retiring officers was presented a plaque.
    Speck announced that Trevor Oxford was a $100 gift certificate winner, who was chosen from a pool of FFA members who attended all meetings this year. Those 10 members with perfect attendance were given a playing card earlier that evening, and Speck drew the winner at the program.
    The officers presented Advisors Speck and Jablonski with photos of the officer team as well as gift certificates for Rockies baseball.
    In her retiring speech, outgoing FFA President Morgan Strand said all of her memories flooded back to her as she paged through the chapter scrapbook.
    She highlighted the attributes of her fellow senior officers, and thanked her parents and Advisors Speck and Jablonski.
    “This nears the end for me, but is a start for the new officers,” she said.
    The school board recently hired Jeremy Vlasin as Jablonski’s replacement. Vlasin, whose father, Randy, was a CCS ag teacher/FFA advisor for many years, was introduced at the program.
    Here is a list of awards announced during Saturday’s program.
Labor auction
Highest bidder—Martin Leibbrandt.
Most money spent—Harchelroad Motors.
Highest pie bids—Beard Trucking and FFA officers.
Certificates of appreciation
Elizabeth Haarberg, Tom Gaschler, Sheila Stromberger, Marcia Bauerle, Heather Francis, Penny Strand, Arlys Cupp, Nancy Johnston, Janice Haarberg, Mark Bottom, Rod and Lynette Johnson, Cyndi Weiss, Clint Johnson, Randy Vlasin, Dustin Weiss, Arlys Cupp, Doug Dean, Marlon Kunnemann, Michelle Wilson, Dirk Haarberg, Jeremy Vlasin, Harchelroad Motors.
Scholarship awards
Freshmen—Steven Fish, Chantal Heathers, Michaela Ketter, Adam Moline, Jenna Schilke.
Sophomores—Lucas Bauerle, Kyle Bottom, Shelby Frasier, Charles Haarberg, Jonathan Hess, Daniel Regier, Alex Strand, Thomas Sullivan.
Juniors—Mayra Acosta, Breanna Carman, Karlee Kunnemann, Paula Leibbrandt, Tyler Roenfeldt, Jade Vaverek.
Seniors—Preston Bernhardt, Miranda Knobbe, Molly Strand, Morgan Strand, Kerry Swanson.

High point awards
1st Year High—Trevor Oxford.
2nd Year High—Jacqueline Smith.
3rd Year High—Paula Leibbrandt.
4th Year High—Kerry Swanson.
High Point Trip winners
Kerry Swanson, Morgan Strand, Molly Strand, Paula Leibbrandt, Jacqueline Smith, Jade Vaverek, Tyler Roenfeldt, Charlie Haarberg, Megan Bauerle, Jonathan Hess, Alex Strand, Kyle Bottom, Casey Francis, Malissa Martinez, Mayra Acosta, April Bernard.
Greenhand—Alexa Bernhardt, Bonnie Cochran, Cody Cravey, Steven Fish, Shelby Frasier, Chantal Heathers, Ben Heskett, Alysha Hopp, Michael Ketter, Jared Knobbe, Adam Moline, Trevor Oxford, Jenna Schilke, Tom Sullivan.
Chapter—Lucas Bauerle, April Bernard, Kyle Bottom, Bre Brown, Joel Fisher, Shelby Frasier, Paul Gaschler, Charlie Haarberg, Jonathan Hess, Daniel Hogsett, Alysha Hopp, Grant Lenners, Malissa Martinez, Daniel Regier, Jackie Smith, Alex Strand, Tanner Stromberger, Tom Sullivan.
Honorary—Mr. and Mrs. Kurt Bernhardt, Mr. and Mrs. Dennis Strand, Mike Francis, Heather Francis, Melda Musick.
Special awards
Sylvia Large Memorial Effort—April Bernard.
Loral Johnson Creed Speaking (first year member)—Chantal Heathers.
Dekalb Achievement Award—Kerry Swanson.
Eunice Speck Memorial Courage Award—Chantal Heathers.
Net Worth Award—Preston Bernhardt.
Judy Hartman Outstanding Senior Officer—Kerry Swanson.
Kathern Cross Memorial Workhorse Award—Mayra Acosta and Paula Leibbrandt.
Star Greenhand—Michaela Ketter.
Most Improved Greenhand—Jenna Schilke.

2009-2010 Officers
President—Jade Vaverek.
Vice President—Paula Leibbrandt.
Secretary—Mayra Acosta.
Treasurer—Charlie Haarberg.
Reporter—Tyler Roenfeldt.
Sentinel—Jonathan Hess.
Parliamentarian—Kyle Bottom.
Chaplain—Karlee Kunnemann.
Historian—April Bernard.
Chamber of Commerce Rep—Grant Lenners.