Weather Forecast

Click for Imperial, Nebraska Forecast

Record cars and crowd make for fine 4th of July show in Holyoke PDF Print E-mail

With over 122 cars checking in at Phillips County Raceway in Holyoke, Colo., Thursday, July 4, a new record was set. Additionally, the number of fans in the grandstands set a new record.
NASCAR star Kenny Schrader added to the excitement of the day. He was on hand at S&W Auto Supply at noon to meet and greet people and also signed autographs at intermission of the races that evening.
Schrader also raced in the BST modifieds competition at the end of the racing evening.
Terrific weather prevailed for the BST mid-season championship, and the crowd was treated to fast three and four-wide racing.
The July 4 races started a three-day racing streak. BST Promotions took the racing to the El Paso County Speedway in Calhan on Friday, July 5, and to I-76 Speedway in Fort Morgan on Saturday, July 6.
A good crowd was on hand in Calhan when, unfortunately, the races were rained out Friday.
But record-breaking numbers of cars and fans were recorded at I-76 on Saturday.
Seeing the Phillips County Raceway for the first time this season were the micro sprints, featuring locals Terry Andersen and Tom Andersen, as well as Brock Stromberger of Imperial.
Terry Andersen won the heat race, but due to car problems was not able to race in the main event. Stromberger took the checkered flag to win it.
John Hansen won both the BST modifieds and the late models races. Holyoke’s Jacob Adler took the checkered flag in the sport mods.
Top five finishers in modifieds, late models, stock cars, sport mods and hobbies follow, listed in order of placing:
BST modifieds—John Hansen, Jeremy Frenier, Jesse Taylor, Eddie Belec and Colton Osborne.
BST late models—John Hansen, Scott Lewis, Bumper Jones, Jonathan Lindberg and John Kuchar.
BST stock cars—Casey Woken, Justin Bussell, Justin Temeyer, Perry Misner and Johnny Yutterman.
BST sport mods—Jacob Adler, Ryan Moser, Jason Brees, Joe Shoup and Trevor Geist.
IMCA hobbies—Austin Davis, Michael Brunswig, Rhett Proctor, Ron Edge and Colt Gibbs.
Next up at Phillips County Raceway is the Sprint Car Spectacular Saturday, July 13, starting at 7 p.m.
In addition to the sprint cars, the racing will feature all four IMCA divisions including mods, stocks, sport mods and hobbies.