Weather Forecast

Click for Imperial, Nebraska Forecast

Senior girls finish season with tournament title PDF Print E-mail

By Jan Schultz
The Imperial Republican

Imperial’s senior girls’ softball team had an unblemished record this summer season, finishing 10-0 and ending it last weekend with the league tournament title.
After a makeup game June 25, the team competed in its one-day Tri-County South League tournament on Saturday in Benkelman.
There, Imperial defeated Wauneta in the first game 15-2, then solidified the tourney title with a 4-1 win over Benkelman.
Anna Bauerle was credited with the win in the opener against Wauneta, pitching all of the five-inning game allowing just two hits, striking out eight and walking two.
Earning hits for Imperial were Sydney Vetter, Becca Huicochea, Jessica Hartman, Emma Mollendor, Cheyanne Kuhlmann, Anna Bauerle, Ally Vrbas, Abbi Vetter and Cassie Burpo.
In the championship game, Kuhlmann earned the win from the mound in another five-inning game. She struck out seven, allowed just three hits and walked two.    
Getting hits for Imperial in the 4-1 finals win were Laird, Huicochea, Kuhlmann and Anna Bauerle.
Benkelman had advanced into the championship game after an earlier 5-4 win over Wauneta.
Coach Denise Smith said even with one less team this summer (Atwood, Kan. did not participate), they actually played two more games due to this year’s format.
All but four of the players on the summer team are expected to be on the Longhorn high school softball team this fall at Chase County Schools, she said.
June 25 makeup game
Last Tuesday night, Imperial took a 21-7 win at Benkelman in a makeup game.
Pitching duties were shared by three on the Imperial team—Sydney Vetter, Kuhlmann and Anna Bauerle.
Vetter pitched the opening inning, allowing six hits and walking two. Kuhlmann came in to relieve, pitching three innings, allowing two hits, walking one and striking out two. Bauerle closed, striking out all three in her inning of work.
Credited with hits were Sydney Vetter, Johnston, Carter, Huicochea, Anna Bauerle, Kuhlmann, Vrbas, Burpo and Laird.