Weather Forecast

Click for Imperial, Nebraska Forecast

Bethany Sorensen to play in pair of all-star games PDF Print E-mail

By Jan Schultz
The Imperial Republican

Recent Chase County graduate Bethany Sorensen has been picked to play in a pair of all-star contests, one basketball and one volleyball.
The first, the CSO All-Star Basketball Game, will be played this Friday in Cambridge.
It will be a mother-daughter event for Sorensen, as her mom, Nancy Sorensen, is serving as head coach for the West Girls Team. Nancy Sorensen has been the head high school girls’ coach at Chase County.
Coaching with Sorensen for Friday night’s game is Deanna Bishop of Perkins County.
The girls’ game will kick off the action Friday night at 5 p.m. MT, followed by the boys’ game set for 7 p.m. MT
Playing alongside Sorensen for the West Team will be graduated seniors from McCook, Wallace, Med Valley, Hitchcock County, Perkins County, Hayes Center and Maywood.
Coaching the East Team in Friday’s game are Kip Stephens of Arapahoe and Jeremy Walters of Eustis-Farnam.
Players on the East represent Alma, Elwood, Southern Valley, Cambridge, Arapahoe, and Eustis-Farnam.
No one from Chase County is involved in the boys’ CSO All-Star Game this year.
Sorensen will also be playing in the 22nd annual Southwest Nebraska Sertoma All-Star Volleyball Classic on Saturday, June 15, in McCook. The action starts at 7 p.m. CT
Twenty-six recently graduated volleyball players will meet at the new McCook Community College Events Center.    
Sorensen has been picked to play on the West Team. West Team Coaches are Rachel Peter of Hayes Center and Stephanie Williams of Dundy County-Stratton.
One of her teammates on the West will be Emma Skelton of Wauneta-Palisade.
Other all-star players on the West Team hail from Dundy County/Stratton, Hayes Center, Hershey, Hitchcock County, North Platte, Paxton, Perkins County and Sutherland.
Coaching the East Team at the Volleyball Classic are Corrine Muenchau of Eustis-Farnam and Kim Barnett of Southwest.
Players on that squad will come from Arapahoe, Brady, Elwood, Eustis-Farnam, Gothenburg, McCook, Med Valley and Southwest.