Weather Forecast

Click for Imperial, Nebraska Forecast

Spring season’s Academic All-State athletes named PDF Print E-mail

By Jan Schultz
The Imperial Republican

Seven athletes at Chase County Schools have been named as Academic All-State Award recipients by the Nebraska School Activities Association.
The seven were recognized at last week’s 7-12 academic awards program by A.D. Troy Hauxwell. He said he wanted to give recognition to this group at the academic awards program rather than at the athletic awards banquet to emphasize the importance of grades when participating in extra-curriculars.
The NSAA announces Academic All-State recipients three times each school year following the fall, winter and spring seasons.
NSAA member schools can nominate two students for each NSAA-sponsored activity.
The following leadership and scholarship guidelines apply to all of the students receiving this honor:
— A nominated student must be a varsity player or organizational leader who has played a significant role on the team or in the organizational activity that season.
— A nominated student must have a minimum cumulative GPA in all subjects of 93% or 3.7 on a 4.0 scale.
The seven student-athletes from CCS earning the honor and the activity for which they were recognized include:
Boys’ golf—Ryan Moline, Sam Haarberg.
Music—Spencer Hartman, Mason Holmes.
Boys’ track and field—Michael May.
Girls’ track and field—Andrea Hogsett, Paige Spady.