Weather Forecast

Click for Imperial, Nebraska Forecast

New FFA leaders installed during banquet PDF Print E-mail

By Carolyn Lee
The Imperial Republican

It was a busy Saturday night for members of the Imperial FFA chapter. New officers were installed, old officers said “good-bye” and many  awards were announced.
New officers for the next school year are: Sam Haarberg, president; Andrea Hogsett, vice president; Blair Hartman, secretary; Derek Schilke, treasurer; Ashlin Bussell, reporter; Tyler Oxford, sentinel; Cassie Burpo, parliamentarian; MaKenna Ketter, historian.
Retiring president Spencer Hartman based his speech on part of the official closing of the FFA meeting. He spoke of what the following meant to his FFA career—“diligent in labor,” “just in our dealings,” “courteous to everyone,” “honest and fair in the game of life.”
Hartman, who has been named State FFA President, challenged the chapter to put hard work into everything they do, as it will pay off in the future.
About 120 people attended the banquet Saturday night at Chase County Schools.
The following are the awards presented:
Certificates of appreciation
Coaches and volunteer help—Kory Fowler, Amy Gittlein, Harchelroad Motors, Troy Hauxwell, Nick and Kristine Smith, Mike Sorensen, Adam Vlasin, Amanda Vlasin, Amy Prior, Dave and Rita Hogsett, Elizabeth Haarberg, DeAnn Doetker, Lisa Wood, Lisa Schilke, Marlon Kunnemann, Doug Dean, Carma Hartman, Tom Gaschler, Dillon Harchelroad, Troy Worth, Arlys Cupp, Kim Bubak, Sarah Winslow, Randy Vlasin.
Scholarship awards—Freshman—Taylor Wilson. Sophomores—Mindy Castle, Jessica Hartman, MaKenna Ketter, Travis Luhrs. Juniors—Kaycee Bubak, Cassie Burpo, Sam Haarberg, Blair Hartman, Andrea Hogsett, Elizabeth Tomky. Seniors—Justin German, Spencer Hartman, Mason Holmes, Callin Ledall.
1st year high point award—Regan Gittlein.
2nd year high point award—Jessica Hartman.
3rd year high point award—Blair Hartman.
4th year high point award—Jordan Gibb.
High point trip winners—Jordan Gibb, Spencer Hartman, Jessica Hartman, Blair Hartman, Callin Ledall, Mindy Castle, MaKenna Ketter, Ashlin Bussell, Justin German, Andrea Hogsett. Alternates—Jordyn Doetker, Bailey Springer, Derek Schilke, Cassie Burpo, Sam Haarberg.
Greenhands—Claire Kuenne, Hunter Dillan, Caleb Bubak, Eric Chavira, Shaylee Dorn, Destyn Milner, Jared Sharp, Joe Tomky.
Chapter degrees—Mindy Castle, Kevin Chavira, Mallory Coleman, Jessica Hartman, MaKenna Ketter, Darin Knobbe.
Honorary degrees—Denise Gibb, Jamie Gibb, Eric and Brenda German, Rob and Carma Hartman, Tom Gaschler.
Sylvia Large Memorial Effort—Jessica Hartman.
Loral Johnson Creed Speaking—Regan Gittlein.
Dekalb Achievement Award—Spencer Hartman.
Eunice Speck Memorial Courage Award—Jordyn Doetker.
Net Worth Award—Spencer Hartman.
Judy Hartman Outstanding Senior Officer—Jordan Gibb.
Kathern Cross Memorial Workhorse Award—Jordan Gibb.
Star Greenhand—Regan Gittlein.
Most Improved Greenhand—Eric Chavira.
2013 Star in Agribusiness—Spencer Hartman.
2013-2014 officers—President, Sam Haarberg; Vice-President, Andrea Hogsett; Secretary, Blair Hartman; Treasurer, Derek Schilke; Reporter, Ashlin Bussell; Sentinel, Tyler Oxford; Parliamentarian, Cassie Burpo; Historian, MaKenna Ketter.

It was noted that $3,350 was raised during this year’s Pinkout basketball game, which was donated to the Chase County Community Hospital Foundation. FFA has raised over $7,000 with the Pinkout activity over the past three years.