Weather Forecast

Click for Imperial, Nebraska Forecast

Twenty district superior ratings earned by CCS music students PDF Print E-mail

By Jan Schultz
The Imperial Republican

Out of 31 entries from Chase County Schools, 20 earned superiors, or “I” ratings, at Friday’s District 5 music contest.
CCS hosted the contest for a second year in a row, giving students not involved in the high school music programs here a day off from classes.
The CCS teaching staff and administration were at school during the day, however, and helped with introductions, watching doors and assisting the judges.
Randy Hayes, 7-12 vocal director at CCS, coordinated the contest again this year and said the school received “a lot of good comments” on the day from directors at the other schools in District 5.
While they had some computer issues prior to the contest with scheduling, Hayes said the day of the contest ran smoothly.
This year, the band performances started at 7:30 a.m. to get a little earlier start, Hayes said. Choirs started their performances at 8 a.m.
The two bands playing between 7:30 and 8 a.m., McCook and Medicine Valley, are both on central time zone, so it didn’t mean such an early departure for them, Hayes noted.
“That helped open up the schedule and it worked really well,” Hayes said.
Three judges rated the large group performances such as bands and choruses. One judge was stationed at all of the small group and solo entries.
Judges for the vocal/piano numbers were Dennis Hutchinson, Smith Center, Kan.; Glenda Baker, Cambridge; and Jerrilee Shuman and Philip Shuman, both of Colby, Kan.
Serving as judges for the instrumental entries were Sarah Romero, Wray, Colo.; Jeff Jordan and Lane Weaver, Hays, Kan.; and Gary Hall of Loveland, Colo.
At districts, if a school’s chorus, show choir, concert band or jazz band entry earned a superior from all three judges, the group received an NSAA district plaque.  
CCS groups earning that plaque were the 9th St. Singers and the chorus.
This was the 17th consecutive year the 9th St. Singers have received the NSAA district plaque, which means 51 consecutive superior ratings.
It was the seventh consecutive year the CCS chorus has received the district plaque at districts, or 21 consecutive superior ratings.
Other schools at the contest here last week were Arapahoe, Cambridge, Dundy County/Stratton, Eustis-Farnam, Hayes Center, Hitchcock County, Maywood, McCook, Medicine Valley, Southwest and Wauneta/Palisade.
Here are the ratings awarded to CCS vocal and instrumental students.
Vocal Superior (I) rating
Male solo—Justin German and Kelton Fisher (Fisher also awarded first honorable mention outstanding performance certificate).
Female solo—Anna Bauerle and Tapainga Kahle.
Girls’ duet—Emma Bauerle and Paige Spady; Tapainga Kahle and Anna Bauerle (Kahle/Bauerle also awarded outstanding performance certificate).
Girls’ quartet—Tapainga Kahle, Anna Bauerle, Ally Vrbas, Liz Tomky.
Mixed quartet—Tapainga Kahle, Anna Bauerle, Justin German, Kelton Fisher.
Girls’ ensemble—All girls from 9th St. Singers (also awarded first honorable mention outstanding performance certificate).
Boys’ ensemble—All boys in CCS chorus (also awarded first honorable mention outstanding performance certificate).
Mixed ensemble—freshman, sophomore and juniors in CCS chorus.
CCS chorus—Received super­iors from all three judges, so received an NSAA plaque.
9th St. Singers—Received superiors from all three judges, so received an NSAA plaque.
Superior (I) rating

Simply Jazz band
Jessica Hartman—flute solo.
Michael Musgrove—bass clarinet solo.
Emma Bauerle—alto sax solo (also received outstanding performance certificate).
Darin Knobbe—bari sax solo (also received honorable mention outstanding performance certificate).
Sheldon Bartholomew—snare drum solo.
Percussion ensemble—Michaela Space, Korey Krutsinger, Sheldon Bartholomew, Isaac Sorensen, Kelton Fisher, Indy Smith, Joe Tomky.
Vocal II rating
Female solo—Emma Bauerle.
Male solo—Jake Lueth.
Instrumental II rating
Concert band
Trumpet trio—Carlos Chavez, Taylor Wilson, Makayla DaMoude.
Saxophone trio—Kevin Chavira, Cheyanne Kuhlmann, Lexi Howard.
Piano solo—Morgan Fisher.
Mallet solo—Korey Krutsinger.
Trumpet solo—Anna Bauerle.
Alto sax solo—Lexi Howard.
Trombone solo—Kelton Fisher.
Snare drum solo—Sam Haarberg.