Weather Forecast

Click for Imperial, Nebraska Forecast

Teams find success at State FFA PDF Print E-mail
By Carolyn Lee
The Imperial Republican

    It was a good 2009 Nebraska FFA Convention for the Chase County Chapter last week. It received “The Best of Nebraska” award for being one of 13 top chapters in the state, and will compete at the national convention as such in the fall.
    It was also a good couple of days for the Ag Sales team, composed of Kerry Swanson, Jade Vaverek, Molly Strand and Morgan Strand. They took second place and earned a purple ribbon in that category.
    Paula Leibbrandt also had a good convention. She took second place in her Proficiency category of Vegetable Production. Leibbrandt had raised and sold sweet corn for several years as part of her SAE (Supervised Agricultural Experience) project for FFA.
    Also enjoying success was the Junior Parliamentary Procedure team of Tom Sullivan, Daniel Regier, Tyler Talbott, Lucas Bauerle, Paul Gaschler, Kyle Bottom and Grant Lenners. That team received a gold medal as the fourth place team at state.
    The Senior Parli Pro team of Mark Gaschler, Molly Strand, Morgan Strand, Kerry Swanson, Megan Bauerle and Breanna Carman took silver in its competition.
    All three of the Junior High Quiz Bowl teams placed in afternoon competition, with one team ending up second overall after battling a team from Eustis-Farnam. Those members were Spencer Hartman, Michael May, Hunter Spady and Callin Ledall. They also placed first in the afternoon tournament.
    The teams of Ethan Haarberg, Shandra Johnson, Emily Johnson, Mason Holmes, Kale Gockley, Johnna Westfahl, Jordan Gibb, Justin German and Sabrina Hayes placed third and fifth in afternoon competition.
    Receiving their State Degrees for completing qualifications in their  SAEs were Morgan Strand in Crop Production Placement; Molly Strand in Crop Production Placement; Kerry Swanson in Ag Sales Placement;  Megan Bauerle in Vegetable Crop Production and Sheep Production; Preston Bernhardt in Diversified Crop Production and Casey Francis in Turf Grass Management Placement.
    Teams competing and their placement included:
  • Ag Communications, 20th—Adam Moline, 14 in Ag Com News; Steven Fish, 19 in Ag Com Press; Jared Knobbe, 20 in Ag Com Broadcast;  Perry Vetter, 20 in Ag Com Graphics.
  • Ag Mechanics, 7th and a blue—Alex Strand, 20; Charlie Haarberg, 13 and red; Lucas Bauerle, 17 and white; Jonatahan Hess, 23.
  • Ag Sales, 2nd and purple—Kerry Swanson, 5 and purple; Jade Vaveerek, 14 and blue; Molly Strand, 17 and blue; Morgan Strand, 22 and blue.
  • AgriScience, 51st—Trevor Oxford, 63; Michaela Ketter, 157; Jenna Schilke, 196; Alexa Bernhardt, 301.
  • Agronomy, 14th and blue— Charlie Haarberg, 46 and blue; Paul Gaschler, 65 and red; Paula Leibbrandt, 85 and red; Cody Cravey, 151.
  • Farm Business Management, 22nd—Charlie Haarberg, 33 and blue; Preston Bernhardt, 72 and red; Tanner Stromberger, 156.
  • Floriculture, 26th—Megan Bauerle, Mayra Acosta, Miranda Knobbe, Breanna Carman.
  • Food Science, 19th—Elizabeth Morse, 8 and purple; Bonnie Cochran, 27 and red; Karlee Kunnemann, 67.
  • Senior Livestock Judging, 21st and red—Molly Strand, 32 and blue; Tyler Roenfeldt, 44 and blue; Morgan Strand, 159; Jade Vaverek, 171.
  • Meats, 26th and red—April Bernard, 59 and blue; Casey Francis, 71 and red; Tyler Roenfeldt, 158.
  • Natural Resources, 37th—Daniel Hogsett, 12 and purple; Alexa Bernhardt, 117; Jackie Smith, 118.

AP Sports List

AP Video Search