Weather Forecast

Click for Imperial, Nebraska Forecast

Nebraska Soybean Board announces call for candidates PDF Print E-mail

There are three district seats on the Nebraska Soybean Board (NSB) eligible for election this year. Soybean producers in Districts 2, 4 and 8 are invited to run for election to the Nebraska Soybean Board by filing a candidacy petition by the April 15 deadline. The election of board members will be conducted via direct-mail ballots and candidate information will be provided to all producers residing within the district in which an election is to be held.
NSB Board Members receive no salary but are reimbursed for expenses incurred while carrying out Board business and will serve a three-year term that begins October 1, 2013. The District 8 seat includes Chase, Dundy and Perkins Counties.
Candidates for the NSB seats must be a resident of Nebraska, 21 years of age or older and a soybean producer in Nebraska for at least five previous years.
Prospective candidates must collect the signatures of 50 soybean producers in their district using an official Nebraska Soybean Board Candidacy Petition and return such petition to the Nebraska Soybean Board office on or before April 15 to be eligible for placement on the ballot. To obtain a candidacy petition, contact Victor Bohuslavsky at the Nebraska Soybean Board by calling 402-432-5720.
The nine-member Nebraska Soybean Board collects and disburses the Nebraska share of funds generated by the one half of one percent times the net sales price per bushel of soybeans sold. Nebraska soybean checkoff funds are invested in research, education, domestic and foreign markets, including new uses for soybeans and soybean products.                 


AP Sports List

AP Video Search