Weather Forecast

Click for Imperial, Nebraska Forecast

City operates with service from boards, commissions PDF Print E-mail

By Jan Schultz
The Imperial Republican

The city of Imperial could not operate without the service provided by several appointed boards and commissions, which are filled with community volunteers.
That’s according to Mayor Dwight Coleman and City Clerk/Administrator Jo Leyland, who work closely with the groups.
Each December, the mayor makes annual appointments to the boards and commissions, in addition to other times during the year when vacancies occur.
The makeup of the current boards and their responsibilities appears below.

Library Board (4 year terms)—Youth member Madison Vaverek, Joan Wenzlick, Jan Graham, Jack Cooper, Cindy Roesener, Don Newman.
The Library Board has the authority to appoint a librarian and other employees, and establish rules and regulations for the management, operation and use of the library.
Park and Tree Commissioners (3 year terms)—Youth members Garrett Thompson and Morgan Fisher, Carl Zuege, Alex McNair, Tracy Haarberg, Carrie Terryberry, Miles Colson, Scott Way, one yet to be appointed.
The Board of Park and Tree Commissioners develops policies and management recommendations relating to the swimming pool, athletic fields, parks and playgrounds. It makes recommendations on the hiring of the pool manager and summer recreation director and assistant, as well as setting fees for pool admission and summer recreation participation. It also develops a plan for trees in the parks, along streets and other public areas.
Cemetery Board (3 year terms)—Evelyn Mitchell, Charlessa Kline, Jason Francis, Linda Lakey, Monna Milner, MaryLou Hegwood.
The Cemetery Board develops policies and management recommendations on general care, management and supervision of Mt. Hope Cemetery; sets rules for use of the cemetery and penalties for violations thereof; sets the fee schedule for sale of lots, open and closing fees and permits.
Planning Commission (3 year terms)—Ben Sauder, Kelly Beard, Greg Koellner, Kelen Fortkamp, Nick Schultz, Jason Anderson, Doug Carman, Stewart Weiss, Randy Roesener.
The Planning Commission makes plans for physical development of the city, including areas outside its boundaries; and develops a comprehensive plan as defined in state statute. It also deals with matters related to capital improvements, building codes, subdivision development, annexation and zoning.
Variance Board, or Board of Adjustment (3 year terms)—Doug Carman, Douglas Mitchell, Jan Elliott, Jim Hanes, Launy Ringleman, an alternate yet to be appointed.
The Variance Board hears and decides on appeals whether it is alleged there is an error in any order, requirement, decision or determination made by a municipal officials based on any zoning ordinance of the city; hears requests on map interpretation; and can authorize a variance from any zoning ordinance if the board determines there are exceptional difficulties or undue hardship imposed.
Imperial Housing Authority (5 year terms)—JoAnne Rowley, Laura Gaschler, Ray Malleck, Amanda Vlasin, Josh Fries, Lori Beard, one yet to be appointed.
The Housing Authority provides oversight of the city-owned housing complexes including Sunrise Apartments, Sunset Housing and the Pine Grove Senior Housing
Community Center Commission, or Theatre Board (4 year terms)—Youth members Emily Owens and Mallory Coleman, Sherri Wheeler, Amy Leibbrandt, Janice Haarberg, Jill Moline, Judy Gaswick.
The Community Center Commission develops policies and makes management recommendations to the city council relating to supervision, maintenance, care and operation of the Imperial Theatre.
Imperial Community Redevelopment Authority (3 year terms)—Mary Deyle, Jim Pirog, Treasurer Jo Leyland, Doug Gaswick, Chairman Russ Pankonin.
The Community Redevelopment Authority reviews requests for Tax Increment Financing, and is the body in charge of projects resulting from that financing.
Loan Review Committee—Lending/Financial Expert Miles Colson, Citizen’s Advisory Committee Member Johna Jablonski, Program Administrator yet to be named.
The Loan Review Committee reviews and analyzes all requests for economic development funds, including business loans, from city sales tax, and make recommendation to the Citizens Advisory Committee.
Citizens Advisory Committee—Joe Weiss, Matt Hanna, Jan Elliott, Johna Jablonski, one yet to be named.
The Citizens Advisory Committee makes recommendations to the city council on any recommendations for use of economic development sales tax funds
Southwest Nebraska Solid Waste Agency (2 year terms)—Chase County representative Don Weiss Jr., Village of Wauneta representative Lynn Brunkhorst, City of Imperial representative, John Miller, Joint City/County representative Bob Hartman, City Council representative to be named.
Airport Authority (elected, 6 year terms)—Secretary Bill Bauerle, Ken Schilke, Jim Haarberg, Taylor May, Jeff Pribbeno.
Imperial Public Power District (elected, 6 year terms)—Director Eric McDaniel, Secretary/Treasurer Bill Brophy, Directors Russ Pankonin and Pat Davison, Chairman Dan Russell.