Weather Forecast

Click for Imperial, Nebraska Forecast

Skills event yields many district champions PDF Print E-mail

By Carolyn Lee
The Imperial Republican

The Imperial FFA produced four district championships during the District FFA Leadership Skills Events (LSE) Dec. 5 in Curtis. Eighteen Chase County Schools high school students competed in seven of the nine events, which included Parliamentary Procedure, Public Speaking, Agriculture Demonstrations and Job Skill Interviews.
Fifteen students qualified for the State FFA Convention in April in Lincoln.
In addition, the five Junior High Quiz Bowl teams from Imperial took district championship as well as second, third, fourth and fifth places.
The quiz bowl teams are coached by Arlys Cupp, Amy Gittlein and Kim Bubak.
District Champions included:
Junior Public Speaking—Jessica Hartman.
Natural Resource Speaking—Andrea Hogsett.
Junior Parliamentary Procedure—Tyler Jennings, Darin Knobbe, Jessica Hartman, Mindy Castle, Travis Luhrs, Destyn Milner, Taylor Wilson.
Senior Parliamentary Procedure—Shandra Johnson, Callin Ledall, Spencer Hartman, Justin German, Cassie Burpo, Ashlin Bussell.
Junior High Quiz Bowl—Rose Sullivan, Jace Clevenger, Joel Damoude.
Also receiving ribbons at the LSE competition at the Nebraska College of Technical Agriculture were:
Extemporaneous Speaking—Mindy Castle, 3rd place.
Creed Speaking—Regan Gittlein, red.
Job Skills—Jordan Gibb, red and Ashlin Bussell, red.
Ag Demo—Blair Hartman and MaKenna Ketter, red.
Besides the District Champion Quiz Bowl team, others included:
District Runner-up—Andy Lane, Brady Gittlein, Lauren Prior and Abby Frias.
3rd place—Cody Denbo, Bridgette Odens and Kayla Schilke.
4th place—Spencer Denbo, Ryelee Christensen, Jaden Bussell and Hayley Vitosh.
5th place—Hunter Bartels, Trace Helser, Stevie Johnson and Sarah Allen.
Livestock judging
The Imperial FFA also has a state qualifier in the Junior Livestock Judging team of Jessica Hartman (2nd, purple), Regan Gittlein (3rd, purple), Darin Knobbe (6th, purple) and MaKenna Ketter, blue.
At district competition recently, the Senior Livestock Judging team took third place, with members as follows: Shandra Johnson (4th, purple), Jordan Gibb, red, Kelsey Wood, red and Abbi Vetter.
The Junior High Livestock Judging team taking third place included Brady Gittlein (3rd, purple), Emma Ferguson (5th, blue), Sydney Vetter and Ansley Wood.
Also competing in the Junior Division were Mindy Castle (red), Joe Tomky (white) and Hunter Dillan.
Jade Harris competed in the Junior High Division.