Weather Forecast

Click for Imperial, Nebraska Forecast

Senior, sophomore earn post-season volleyball honors PDF Print E-mail

By Jan Schultz
The Imperial Republican

A senior and a sophomore off the 2012 Lady Longhorn volleyball team have earned post-season honors from the SPVA conference and their teammates.
Senior Bethany Sorensen and sophomore Paige Spady earned a place on the Second Team of the SPVA all-conference.
Sorensen earned another coveted honor as being named the season’s honorary captain.
Voting was conducted among the six SPVA coaches last Wednesday at a meeting in Paxton to select this year’s all-conference team.
Coach Jodie Schuller said she is excited to have two girls recognized as all-conference in a very strong SPVA this season. Three of the six SPVA schools qualified for the state tournament this year, and two of them—Sutherland and North Platte St. Pat’s—finished third and fourth in their classes.
In the selection process, Schuller said coaches can nominate as many players as they choose, but cannot vote for their own players.
The top 12 vote-getters are named to the First and Second Teams, with an additional four players this year earning honorable mention status.
For team captain, Schuller said she asks her players to choose their selection based on leadership on and off the court, “and for the one who gets it going on the court.”
Sorensen led the team again this season as the sole setter, and was credited with 686 set assists for a per-game average of just over eight. She set a new career CCS record for assists with 2,116.
Sorensen had the second most ace serves this season with 35, was 95 percent successful at the serving line and was credited with 191 digs.
Spady had the second most kills this season with 222 for a per-game average of 2.64 and a season hitting efficiency of .255.
She also tallied 17 ace serves and had a 94 percent success rate at the serving line.
Here is the full list of SPVA conference honorees for 2012.
First Team—Daynlee Miller (Hershey), Brook Boucher (St. Pat’s), Samantha Byrn (St. Pat’s), Brittany Lawrence (St. Pat’s), Shania Metcalf (Perkins County), Sam Kennedy (Sutherland).
Second Team—Bethany Sorensen (Chase County), Paige Spady (Chase County), Maegan Hiatt (Hershey), Shelby Allberry (St. Pat’s), Joli Hopping (Sutherland), Jalyne Schuster (Sutherland).
Honorable mention—Brooke Munsen (Hershey), Jenna Young (Hershey), Josie Cox (Maxwell), Michi Prante (Perkins County).


AP Sports List

AP Video Search