Weather Forecast

Click for Imperial, Nebraska Forecast

4-H families, volunteers celebrate accomplishments PDF Print E-mail

Over 140 4-H’ers, family members and volunteers gathered Nov. 6, for the annual 4-H Achievement Program in Imperial at the fairgrounds exhibit hall.
The 4-H Achievement Program is held each year to honor and celebrate the accomplishments of 4-H youths, as well as recognize the numerous leaders and supporters to the Chase County 4-H Program.
The evening began with a meal sponsored by the Chase County Stockmen’s 4-H Club. The club did this as one of their community services using the funds from the sales they made on their sweet corn project this summer.
Each year Outstanding Exhibit Hall Awards are given to individuals who excel in different project areas. These awards are based the individual giving a presentation on the county level, competing in a judging event and they must also exhibit at the county fair in the area of the award.
This year, Lauren Prior received the Outstanding Clothing Award Sponsored by Prior’s. Hayley Vitosh was the recipient of the Sr. Overall FCS Trophy sponsored by Johnson Publications and was awarded the Outstanding Foods Trophy sponsored by Hill’s Family Foods. The Outstanding Project Trophy sponsored by 21st Century, LLC, was awarded to Brady Gittlein.
Livestock awards were presented in the three areas which included herdsmanship, round robin and the carcass contest.
The Stockmen Club won the honors for herdsmanship in the sheep division. Beef herdsmanship was awarded to the Chase County Clovers and the Challengers received the herdsmanship award in the swine division. These clubs each received a cash incentive along with a certificate of achievement for their efforts.
Receiving carcass trophies from the county fair this year were:
Market Lamb—Grand Champion—Lauren Prior; Reserve Champion—Jesse Krausnick.
Market Hog—Grand Champion— Shandra Johnson; Reserve Champion—Morayah Cupp.
Market Beef—Grand Champion—Caleb Bubak; Reserve Champion—Morayah Cupp.
Trophies were sponsored by 21st Century Equipment, LLC, Veterinary Services, Large’s Cattle Services, Wayne and Chris Krausnick, Rex and Amy Prior, Chrisman Cattle Services, Inc.—Travis and Kelly Chrisman, Maddux Feeds—Mike Maddux and Sabrina Sandoval; and Scott and Linda Clements, as well as incentive sponsors Veterinary Services, Jerry Wood and Imperial Beef.
A big part of 4-H is giving back to the community through community service projects. This year 4-H clubs showed their community spirit in many different ways from working at the theatre to helping at the pumpkin patch to highway clean-up to serving at the women’s club soup supper and more. This year the Silver Spurs, Challengers, Chase County All Stars and Chase County Stockmen 4-H Clubs were recognized for their community service projects.
The Nebraska 4-H Diamond Clover Program is designed to encourage 4-H youths to engage in a variety of projects and activities that will enable members to acquire the life skills and necessary to lead successful lives as competent, caring and contributing citizens. The program’s overall goal is to provide 4-H members a rich and diverse learning experience.
Youths completing levels were: Level 1—Amethyst: Kendal Prior, Morayah Cupp and ShyAnn McMillin; Level 3— Ruby: Hayley Vitosh; and Level 4—Sapphire: Lauren Prior.   
Each year the 4-H Council recognizes supporters of the 4-H program by selecting recipients for the Alumni Award and also the Friends of 4-H Award.
This year’s Alumni Award was presented to Mark Fanning. As a past 4-H’ers in Chase County, Fanning continues to support the Chase 4-H Program by offering his services as an auctioneer each year for the livestock sale held at the county fair.
The Friends of 4-H Award is given annually to a business, group or individual who has gone that extra mile in supporting the Chase County 4-H program. This year, the Chase County 4-H Council presented this award to Mitch and Sarah Hoskovec.
The Hoskovecs always goes above and beyond the call of duty when it comes to the supporting the 4-H archery project. Over the last five years they have increased the enrollment in the archery project from a couple youths to over 30 youths.
Each year, a Sportsmanship Award is presented to a shooting sports member who exhibits responsibility, displays courtesy for others and demonstrates safety practices in the BB Gun/Air Rifle practices and competitions.
This trophy is sponsored by Burton and Vickie Beard in memory of Jim and Jan Trupp. Also, new this year, was the presentation of a gun case donated by the Tomky Family. These awards were awarded to Logan Mendenhall.
The volunteer leaders were recognized for their essential role in the 4-H youth program. They were presented certificates of appreciation for their time and dedication.
Volunteer leaders and their years of service include:
1st year—Kristi Bernhardt; 2nd year—Troy Hoskovec, Amy Prior, and Kelly Vitosh, 3rd year—Sarah Hoskovec and Nathan Vitosh; 4th year— Rebecca Koellner and Lori Mendenhall; 5th year—Mitch Hoskovec; and Jessica Skomp, 7th year—Kim Bubak, Kendra Deaver, DeAnn Doetker, Amy Gittlein and Jeremey Gittlein; 8th year—Tracy Coleman, Tonja Berry and Kristine Smith; 9th year—Jippi Milner, Lisa Schilke and Chris Tomky; 13th year—Gene Heathers, Tracy Heathers and Dave Hogsett; 14th year—Rita Hogsett; 16th year—Becky Spady; 20th year—Arlys Cupp; and 26th year—Susan Spicer.
Awards of achievement on 4-H record books were presented to the 4-H members for their accomplishments over the years. They are as follows:
Junior awards
Poultry—Morayah Cupp.
Dog—Brady Gittlein.
Horse—Emma Ferguson, Shaylee Heathers.
Rabbit—Carissa Hill.
Sheep—Taylor Jablonski.
Presentations—Hayley Vitosh.
Photography—Whitney Hopp.
Veterinary Science—Morayah Cupp, Emma Ferguson.
Small Engines—Chance Lotspeich;.
Sew For Fun—Alicia Holmberg.
Consumer Education—Ashlie Benge and Cydney Spady.
Food Preservation—Kayla Schilke.
Aerospace—ShyAnn McMillin.
Citizenship—Lauren Prior.
Senior awards
Beef—Caleb Bubak.
Plant Sciences—Joe Tomky.
Horticulture—Mindy Castle.
Tailoring—Andrea Hogsett.
Shooting Sports—Regan Gittlein.
Swine—Shelbi Brandt, Chantal Heathers.
Aerospace—Dustin Holmes.
Welding—Derek Schilke.
4-H Story—Junior—Ashley Bubak and Alicia Holmberg. Intermediate—Regan Gittlein. Senior—Derek Schilke and Chantal Heathers.
In order to advance in the horse project, youths have the opportunity to complete horse advancement levels. This year completing Horsemanship Level I was Cydney Spady.
New 4-H Council members were elected for 2013 and the 2012 Council members were presented with certificates of appreciation and thanks for all of their service.
The newly elected 4-H Council members were Kurt Bernhardt and Jeremey Gittlein.
The 2012 Council members were Kurt Bernhardt, Tracy Heathers, Jeremey Gittlein, Lisa Schilke, Brian Helser, Sue Knobbe, Lori Mendenhall, Kelly Vitosh, Kim Bubak, Shandra Johnson, Spencer Hartman and Mason Holmes.


AP Sports List

AP Video Search