Weather Forecast

Click for Imperial, Nebraska Forecast

Area residents in new LEAD group PDF Print E-mail

Nebraska LEAD Group 32 participants were announced last week by Terry Hejny, director, Nebraska LEAD (Leadership Education/Action Development) Program.
The newest members of Nebraska’s premier two-year agricultural leadership development program in its 31st year are made up exclusively of participants who are involved in production agriculture and/or agribusiness in Nebraska, Hejny said.
Four area residents from Benkelman, Grant, Elsie and Hayes Center are in the 2012-13 group.
“Once again we are proud to say that Class 32 appears to be filled with outstanding individuals from throughout the state,” Hejny said.
The two-year program begins this month.
LEAD Fellows will participate in 12 monthly three-day seminars across Nebraska, a 10-day national study/travel seminar and a 14-16 day international study/travel seminar. The goal of the program is to develop problem solvers, decision makers and spokespersons for agriculture and Nebraska.
Seminar themes include leadership assessment and potential, natural resources and energy, agricultural policy, leadership through communication, our political process, global perspectives, nuclear energy, social issues, understanding and developing leadership skills, agribusiness and marketing, advances in health care, resources and people of Nebraska’s Panhandle and other areas designed to develop leaders through exposure to a broad array of current topics and issues and how they interrelate.
The Nebraska LEAD Program is operated by the non-profit Nebraska Agricultural Leadership Council in cooperation with the Institute of Agriculture and Natural Resources at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln and 10 other institutions of higher education throughout Nebraska.
The Nebraska LEAD 32 Fellows iare Matt Boos, Cozad; Aaron Broz, Hayes Center; Bryan Buskirk, Alliance; Chris Cornelius, Elsie; Warren Coulter, Gretna; Jessi Doke, Norfolk; Bonnie Downing, Dunning; Christine Erquiaga, Rushville; Chris Hartwig, Lincoln; Brad Holen, Omaha;  Brian James, Nebraska City; Mackenzie Johnston, Milburn; Andrew Kabes, Grant; Darrell Kahler, David City; Kurt Kircher, Kearney; Jeff Larson, Axtell; Tami McIntosh, Sargent; Brett Mueller, Columbus; Miles Mundorf, Cozad; Stephanie Perry, Omaha; Tyson Schimmer, Grand Island; Leslie Smith, Mitchell; Alyssa Smola, Lincoln; Steve Stroup, Benkelman; Jeff Swenson, Morrill; Justin Troudt, Kearney; Sam Vakhidov, Lincoln; and Shanna Waterman, Osmond.
Josh Fries of Imperial is helping through the 2011-13 LEAD program.


AP Sports List

AP Video Search