Weather Forecast

Click for Imperial, Nebraska Forecast

Cross country runners open season Friday PDF Print E-mail

By Russ Pankonin
The Imperial Republican

Chase County’s cross country team will make their season debut Friday at the Cambridge Invitational.
The races will be held at the Cross Creek Golf Links beginning at 1 p.m. MDT.
Coach Carl Zuege’s squad includes nine boys—four juniors, three sophomores, and two freshmen—and seven girls—three seniors, two juniors and two freshmen.
“I’m tickled with the numbers,” he said.
Zuege said his squad will still be young, with no seniors on the squad. Call it a building year, he said.
He expects sophomore Holden Dreiling to lead the Longhorns this season. He’s the top returner from last year’s districts and had a break-out track season last spring.
Zuege said Dreiling should be a contender in most all of the meets.
Dreiling will be backed up by juniors Andrew Vaverek and Garret Thompson, who return from last year’s squad. He said the pair are running consistently and have come into the season in much better shape.
Zuege also expects freshman Indy Smith to make an impact this year as well.  
Zuege has no four-year runners, despite having three seniors.
This will be junior Mallory Coleman’s third season and the second for senior Suzy Kasselman.
The rest of his seven runners are in their first year of cross country.
As a result, Zuege said his girls’ team will be a bit of an unknown until they get some races under their belt.
They need to develop race experience and challenge and push each other more in practices.
Compete in Class C district
After competing in Class D for the past several years, the Longhorns will move up to Class C in district competition this year.
Chase County represents the smallest school in Class C cross country classification. Holdrege is the largest.
Zuege said the Class C classification will bring them into a district with some teams known for cross country, such as Ogallala, Gothenburg, Cozad and Mitchell.
The state activities association has not yet announced district locations or team assignments.
Team members include:
Seniors—Suzi Kasselman, Maddison, Vaverek and Sandra Jones.
Juniors—Mallory Coleman and Andrea Hogsett.
Freshmen—Charlie Ann Carter and Alyssa Moreno.
Juniors—Andrew Vaverek, Garret Thompson, Adam Crapson and Korey Krutsinger.
Sophomores—Holden Dreiling, Brian Burpo and Johnathan Fegley.
Freshmen—Indy Smith and Mason Meeske.


AP Sports List

AP Video Search