Weather Forecast

Click for Imperial, Nebraska Forecast

Four candidates for city council narrowed to three PDF Print E-mail

By Jan Schultz
The Imperial Republican

City of Imperial residents will have three names instead of four from which to choose when they mark their choices for city council in November’s General Election.
Joe Weiss, a candidate for one of two council seats open at the end of 2012, filed the necessary paperwork Tuesday with County Clerk/Election Commissioner Debbie Clark, removing his name as a city council candidate.
Declinations of candidate nominations must by filed by Sept. 1. By doing so by the deadline, Weiss’ name will not appear on the ballot.
Weiss said this week that he is too busy to serve as a council member, if elected, noting if he had been on the council this summer, he wouldn’t have made a meeting.
“The city needs someone who will be there more often” than he anticipates his schedule will allow, Weiss said.
He said he foresees he will not have the time to do the job he feels should be done as a council member.
His withdrawal still leaves three candidates seeking the two open seats—incumbent Sue Moore, J.R. Reeder and Dan Thompson. Incumbent Doug Gaswick did not file for re-election.
Clark also noted Aug. 1 was the deadline for new candidate filings for such offices as village boards and public power district boards. Incumbents had to file earlier.
No one had filed yet Tuesday for the two open seats on the Lamar village board, according to Clark. Incumbents Dorene Wiest and Jeremiah Hansen did not file.
Two seats are also open on the Wauneta village board. Incumbent Lloyd Sinner has filed, but Lynn Brunkhorst, another incumbent, did not.
For the Imperial Public Power District Board, incumbents Pat Davison and Dan Russell have filed.
For the Southwest Public Power District Board, incumbents Steve Leibbrandt of Imperial, Wayne Lutz of Benkelman and Clint Schafer of Culbertson have all filed for re-election.


AP Sports List

AP Video Search