Weather Forecast

Click for Imperial, Nebraska Forecast

County elected officials to be sworn in Thursday PDF Print E-mail

By Carolyn Lee
The Imperial Republican

The Chase County Courtroom at the courthouse will be the site of the swearing in of all elected county officials today (Thursday). The ceremony will begin at 8:30 a.m.
Clerk Magistrate Karen Wilson will give the oath of office to one new official and six re-elected officials.
Kevin Mueller, formerly of Ogallala where he served as Keith County Sheriff, will be sworn in as county sheriff. He defeated incumbent Sheriff Tim Sutherland in the November election, after seeking office as a petition candidate.
Re-elected officials include commissioners Don Weiss, Jr. and Jodi Thompson, representing Districts 3 and 2, respectively. Weiss defeated Joe Langin in the General Election, while Thompson ran unopposed in November.
Also running unopposed were County Assessor Dotty Bartels, Attorney Arlan Wine, Clerk Debra K. Clark and Treasurer Cynthia S. Schoenberger.
Schoenberger will be sworn in as an elected official. Up until this point she was an appointed official. She was appointed treasurer to fill Kay Hazard’s position upon her retirement.


AP Sports List

AP Video Search