Weather Forecast

Click for Imperial, Nebraska Forecast

Three chosen as football captains PDF Print E-mail

By Russ Pankonin
The Imperial Republican

Seniors Daniel Regier, Tanner Stromberger and Misael Garcia earned the distinct honor of being selected as the honorary captains by their teammates of the 2010 Longhorn football team.
Coach Dan Lenners said the trio deserved the honor. “These are good kids who led by example, both on and off the field,” he said.
Each of the three proved to be statistical leaders in the season-ending stats.
Stromberger and Regier led the defense this year. Stromberger finished with 85 solo tackles and 52 assists. Regier finished with 63 solos and 31 assists.
Regier led the receiving corp with 341 yards and seven touchdowns on 15 receptions. He also handled the punting duties for the Longhorns, finishing with a 32.6-yard average on 31 punts.
The 120-lb. Garcia led the rushing attack this season with 472 yards for an average of 6.2 yards per carry on 76 carries, despite some injuries along the way.
Prior to injuries, he went 10-10 on extra-point kicks. He also led the team in kick and punt returns.
C2-10 all-district team
In post-season balloting, six Longhorns landed on the C2-10 all-district team, along with two honorable mention players.
The three captains were joined on the all-district team by seniors Alex Strand, Paul Gaschler and Jeremiah Lueth.
Strand was selected as a linebacker and was the third-leading tackler on the defense. He also handled quarterback duties for much of the season.
Gaschler, who was named as an all-district running back, was on track to be the team’s leading rusher until breaking his collarbone in the seventh regular season game.
Lueth was named to the defense as a defensive back. He finished with 23 tackles and 190 assists along with 285 yards on 44 carries.
Sophomores Michael May and Kale Gockley were selected as honorable mention players. Both May and Gockley played on both sides of the ball. Gockley took over quarterback duties after a change in the offensive attack.
Complete statistics for the Longhorns’ 4-5 season campaign accompany this story.
Members of the all-district team are as follows:
Nebraska C2-10
All-District Football Team

QB—Brandon Stuart, Bayard, Jr.
RB—Brody Prante, Perkins Co., Jr.
RB—Paul Gaschler, Chase Co., Sr.
RB—Nick Lapaseotes, Bridgeport, Sr.
WR—Spencer Jobman, Bayard, Sr.
WR—Kody Krantz, Bayard, Sr.
TE—Daniel Regier, Chase Co., Sr.
OL—Travis Willey, Bayard, Sr.
OL—Vinny Ross, Perkins Co., Sr.
OL—Andrew Aratani, Morrill, Fr.
OL—Chad Fosbinder, Perkins Co., Jr.
ATH—Michael York, Perkins Co., Sr.
DL—Tyler Brott, Perkins Co., Sr.
DL—James Buford, Morrill, Sr.
DL—Larry Utttecht, Morrill, Jr.
LB—Tanner Stromberger, CCS, Sr.
LB—Collin DeCora, Bridgeport, Jr.
LB—Alex Strand, Chase Co., Sr.
DB—Chance Hall, Bridgeport, Sr.
DB—Mikah Schmall, Bayard, Sr.
DB—Christian Miyamoto, PC.,Jr.
DB—Misael Garcia, Chase Co., Sr.
DB—Jeremiah Lueth, Chase Co., Sr.
ATH—Jaime Galvan, Bridgeport, Sr.
Kicker—Jeremy Hagan, PC., Sr.
Honorable Mention (By School)
Bayard—Nate Rice, Ryan Parriott; Bridgeport—Brent Hoerler, Colby Schildt; Chase Co.—Kale Gockley, Michael May; Morrill—Sheldon Le, Joey Hoffman; Perkins Co.—Kyle Schulze, Riley Kosmicki.


AP Sports List

AP Video Search