Weather Forecast

Click for Imperial, Nebraska Forecast

Incumbent filing deadline passes; most decide to seek office again PDF Print E-mail

Two NRD board members not

seeking re-election

By Jan Schultz
The Imperial Republican

It appears most local office-holders like what they do in government service.
All but three of the incumbents holding elective offices in the area filed by Tuesday’s deadline.
And, there are several new candidates who have jumped into races already even though they had until March 1 to file.
Chase County Clerk/Election Commissioner Debbie Clark provided the listing of candidate filings Wednesday morning. Her office at the courthouse stayed open an extra hour Tuesday for any last-minute filings.
Probably the biggest news since the incumbent deadline is past is who didn’t file for re-election.
Two on the Upper Republican NRD board, which has had several years of tough issues with which to deal, decided not to seek re-election.
Tim Schilke of rural Champion is not running again for his Dist. #4 seat. Likewise, Mike Mosel of Grant is not seeking re-election to his Dist. #8 seat.
The other four NRD board incumbents did file—Terry Martin of Benkelman (Dist. 2), Dean Large of Wauneta (Dist. 6), Greg Pelster of Elsie (Dist. 10) and Jeff Wallin of Imperial (at-large).
Only one other incumbent for races in Chase County didn’t file by Tuesday’s deadline—Brenda Anderson for the Wauneta/Palisade Schools board of education.
Two additional new candidate filings the past week will create races for Imperial mayor and seats on the Chase County Schools board of education.
Dwight Coleman of Imperial has thrown his hat into the ring for mayor, and will challenge incumbent Annie Longan for the position.
Willy O’Neil of Imperial has filed for the CCS board, where there are four seats open. All four school board incumbents have also filed.
Earlier, Randy Jordan filed for Chase County Sheriff, which will create a race for that office, as well.
Also filing the past week before the deadline were Imperial city council incumbent Lynn Luhrs, and Imperial Airport Authority incumbents Jeff Pribbeno and Blake Moreland.
March 1 is the deadline for non-incumbents to file. Clark’s office will remain open until 5 p.m. MT that day.
List of area candidates

  • Chase County Clerk (4 year)—Debra K. Clark-R
  • Chase County Assessor—(4 year)—Dotty Bartels-R
  • Chase County Sheriff (4 year)—Tim C. Sutherland-R, Randy F. Jordan-R
  • Chase County Treasurer (4 year)—Cynthia S. Schoenberger-R
  • Chase County Attorney (4 year)—Arlan G. Wine-R
  • Commissioner District #2 (4 year)—Jodi K. Thompson-R
  • Commissioner District #3 (4 year)—Don Weiss Jr.-R
  • Imperial City Mayor (4 year)—Annie Longan, Dwight Coleman
  • Imperial City Council (4 year) (2 seats open)—Chad Yaw, Lynn Luhrs
  • Imperial Airport Authority (6 year) (2 seats open)—Jeff Pribbeno, Blake Moreland
  • Chase County Schools (4 year) (4 seats open)—Todd Burpo, Dirk Haarberg, Robert D. Milner, Willy O’Neil, Penny L. Strand
  • Wauneta-Palisade Schools (4 year) (3 seats open)—Allison Sandman, Bill Bischoff
  • Upper Republican NRD (6 seats open)—District 2—Terry Martin, Benkelman; District 4—No filings; District 6—Dean Large, Wauneta; District 8—No filings; District 10—Greg Pelster, Elsie; At-Large—Jeff Wallin, Imperial.

AP Sports List

AP Video Search