Weather Forecast

Click for Imperial, Nebraska Forecast

2010—It’s an election year PDF Print E-mail

All but one county official will be elected this year

By Russ Pankonin
The Imperial Republican

As the calendar turns to 2010, it not only signals the beginning of a new year but the beginning of another election cycle in Nebraska.
The major offices in state government will be up for election this year, including governor and lieutenant governor, secretary of state, state auditor, state treasurer and attorney general.
Here in Chase County, all but one county commissioner seat will be up for election in this year’s cycle.
These county seats include commissioner districts #2 and #3, clerk, assessor, treasurer, attorney, sheriff and surveyor. All are for four-year terms.
At the Congressional level, all three Nebraska Congressional representatives will face re-election. The House of Representative seats come up for election every two years.
There is no U.S. Senate race in 2010. Senate terms run six years and Sen. Ben Nelson’s seat will be up for election in 2012.
Non-partisan offices up for election in Imperial include mayor, city council and airport authority.
The Upper Republican Natural Resources District will have an at-large seat open, along with subdistricts #4 and #6.
Imperial Public Power District will have two seats up for election.
Village boards in Wauneta and Lamar will also have seats up for election, as will school districts in Imperial, Wauneta and Perkins County.
Other entities with seats up for election include Educational Service Units #15 and #16, 44th District of the Nebraska Legislature, Public Service Commission—District #5, Mid-Plains Board of Governors—District #2, State Board of Education—District #7 and University of Nebraska Board of Regents—District #7.
Incumbent filing deadline Feb. 15
The first filing deadline comes Monday, Feb. 15, when all incumbents who wish to seek office must file by the end of that day.
Debbie Clark, Chase County Clerk and election commissioner, said anyone who is now serving in a elective office is considered an incumbent, even if they are filing for a different elective office than the one they currently serve in.
The filing deadline for non-incumbents is Monday, March 1.
The filing deadlines for village boards, public power boards and ESUs are later because there are no primaries for these seats.
Incumbents for these seats must file by July 15. Non-incumbents have until Aug. 1 to file.
Later this month, Clark will publish an official list of offices open for election, length of term, where to file and filing fees, if applicable.


AP Sports List

AP Video Search