Weather Forecast

Click for Imperial, Nebraska Forecast

Imperial Lions host District Governor; officers installed PDF Print E-mail

By Jan Schultz
The Imperial Republican

Imperial Lions welcomed an area resident at their meeting last week, who just happens to be District Governor of the Nebraska Lions organization.
Larry Seger of Wallace, a former teacher and superintendent there, was formally sworn in as Governor of Nebraska’s District L at the Lions international convention in Minneapolis July 1-10.
District L includes clubs in most of western Nebraska.
Seger is a retired school administrator, teacher and coach at Wallace, and is originally from Atkinson, Neb. He and wife Judy, a first grade teacher in Wallace, have two grown children and two granddaughters.
Seger told Lions members about his experiences at the international convention, and some of the many programs available to local clubs to better serve their communities.
At the convention, as they traveled parts of the city, Seger said there was a lot of curiosity about the Lions logo people saw on their shirts, providing the opportunity to talk about the worldwide service organization.
Seger noted that Lions clubs are now active in 205 countries around the world.
The new international president is from Germany, Eberhard J. Wirfs, whose theme this year is, “Move to Grow.” He wants to “grow” Lions membership in order to meet the increasing needs for community service around the world.
Seger’s District L includes 42 clubs from Benkelman east to Beaver City, north to Lexington, west on I-80 to the western borders, west to Chadron, east to Gordon and back south to  I-80.
He’s already made 15 club visits since the international convention.
One program available to Lions clubs in Nebraska is Radio Talking Book, which provides a free radio broadcast and equipment to people who no longer may be able to read due to failing eyesight.
Seger said the broadcasts include regular reading of state daily newspapers and magazines, as well as other entertainment.
The Imperial Lions were interested in pursuing the service project for use here.
While at the Lions’ Aug. 25 meeting, D.G. Seger also installed the club’s 2009-10 officers.
They include Jan Schultz, president; Merril Humphreys, 1st vice president; Jeff Leyland, 2nd vice president; Kelly Hammerlun, 3rd vice president; Jayne Henry, secretary; Miles Colson, treasurer; Richard  Munson, Lion Tamer; Larry Radcliffe, Tail Twister; Jordan Hammerlun, membership chairman; and directors Dirk Hill, Dennis Batterman and Randy Carlholm.
After the officers were installed, the club’s past president Dirk Hill presented club secretary Jayne Henry with the Lion of the Year Award for 2008-09.
Members who had perfect attendance the past year included Marvin Large, Arlene Large and Larry Radcliffe.
Prior to the meeting, the Lions enjoyed a potluck meal at the Lions picnic shelter in Campbell Park.