Weather Forecast

Click for Imperial, Nebraska Forecast

Classic car show bigger than ever PDF Print E-mail

By Carolyn Lee
The Imperial Republican

The CarNutz Cruize-in car show at the Chase County Fair this year attracted entries from as far away as Oregon, but the majority were from the Southwest Nebraska-Kansas-Colorado area.
Organizer Doug Reinke said he didn’t have an exact count of how many cars were entered, but it was more than last year.
“Everything worked smooth, and the numbers were up,” he observed. “There were quite a few different cars there. There’s a growing interest in restoring old vehicles,” Reinke added.
Placing in each division were the following:
Pre-1948—1st, Jim Bowker, Goodland, ‘39 Chevy; 2nd, George Rose, Arapahoe, 1937 Buick 2 dr. Coupe; 3rd, Nate Schneider, Castle Rock, Colo., 1931 Dodge 3-window Coupe; 4th, Beeker Beekhuizen, Lakewood, Colo., 1931 Ford Model A Tow Truck.
1949-1963—1st, Armando Garcia, Minitare, 1954 Chevrolet Bel-Air HDT; 2nd, Gregory Deterding, North Platte, 1955 Chevrolet Bel-Air; 3rd, Jack Karre, Grant, 1955 Chevrolet Bel-Air; 4th, Kenneth Propp, Scottsbluff, 1958 Chevrolet Impala.
1964-1974—1st, Nathan Thomas, Goodland, Kan., 1969 Chevrolet Chevelle; 2nd, Bruce Bolen, Bird City, Kan., 1969 Chevrolet Camaro Z28; 3rd, Dennis Shoff, Goodland, Kan., 1971 Chevrolet Malibu.
1975-1985—1st, Leroy Thomas, Goodland, Kan., 1977 Pontiac Grand Prix LJ; 2nd, Shaun Adams, Culbertson, 1979 Chevrolet Camaro; 4th, Jeff Brady, Ogallala, Pontiac Trans Am.
1986-present—1st, Ryan Greeley, North Platte, 1998 Chevrolet Camaro; 2nd, Greg Sis, Elsie, 2008 Dodge Viper SRT; 3rd, Tom Anderjaska, Hayes Center, 2002 Ford Mustang; 4th, Riley Hilton, Ogalalla, 2002 Ford Mustang.
High school class—1st, Skylar Reinke, Imperial, 1955 Studebaker C Cab; 2nd, Tommy Prosser, Lamar, 1973 Chevrolet Nova; 3rd, Jason Krayca, Goodland, Kan., 1923 Ford T-Bucket; 4th, Jacob Pankonin, Imperial, 2003 Ford Mustang.
Open class—1st, Miles Colson, Imperial, 1944 Ford 498T; 2nd, Mason Fanning, Enders, 1968 Chevrolet C10 Stepside; 3rd, Chuck Vette, Wauneta, 1972 Chevrolet C10 Frame.
Pickup Pre-1966 class—George Rose, Arapahoe, 1953 Willys Overland Pickup.
Pickup 1967-present class—Dwight and Dianna Lindskov, Imperial, 1986 Ford F350.
People’s Choice and Best Engine—George Rose, Arapahoe, 1953 Willys Overland Pickup.
Club Choice—Armando Garcia, Minatare, 1954 Chevrolet Bel-Air.
Best Interior—Gregory Deterding, North Platte, 1955 Chevrolet Bel-Air.
Best Paint—Jeff Brady, Ogallala, Pontiac Trans Am.
The CarNutz club sponsored the event, along with a number of other businesses and individuals.